The desperate lives of Sunday School teachers

Here’s a little excerpt from Desert Desperate, my  inspy comic ebook. Anyone who has taught Sunday School can appreciate this, I hope.

Three months and six days later, my life was turned upside-down in Sunday school. Isn’t that just the way things go? Who would think you could experience catastrophe in a church room filled with by miniature chairs and dozens of safety scissors?

That particular Sunday I was in good spirits in spite of my teaching assignment. I’m not in tune with the natural vibrations of children, so I avoided Sunday school duty like people skirt mysterious fluids on a bathroom floor. But desperation is apparently visited onthe clergy as well as civilian people and the pastor’s wife pleaded with meuntil I agreed to one day of service in the preschool room.

She beamed at me, tucking a flyaway strand of hair back into her braid. “Don’t worry about a thing. All you have to do is sing a song, read a story and serve snack. It will be an hour, tops. If worse comes to worse, get out the Play-doh. The kids are dolls; you’ll love them to pieces.”Having seen some of the little darlings running around the church sanctuary, I was not confident in this assessment, but I figured they couldn’t get too crazy in the space of sixty minutes. All I had to do was watch them play and try to slip in a littleBiblical gem in between snack and story. No problem.

If you want to take a peek at the book trailer, here’s the link. http://animoto.com/play/S8J1jzCPcY43cNcyRnfRRA

Available for Kindle http://amzn.to/khfwtH

And Nook http://bit.ly/mbtqjy

Leave a Reply

