Is treasure hunting your thing?

Treasure hunting is on my mind and in my computer as I’m forging my way through a new three book series about folks who uncover lost treasures for a living. What most interests me is treasures that can lurk right under our proverbial noses, like the bit of true story below.

One man’s dusty old vase, is another man’s wildest dream come true. A brother and sister, cleaning out their uncle’s London bungalow after his death, came across a yellow and blue vase which they stashed precariously on a bookshelf during the packing. When they finally took it to a London auction house they were  dumbfounded to learn it was a priceless Chinese vase made for the Qianlong Emperor. They were further floored when the thing fetched a cool 69 million dollars at  Bainbridges auction house. Incredible, no?

What type of prize comes to your mind when you hear the word ‘treasure?’ Post a comment on the blog and you’re entered to win a signed book and iTunes gift card.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Liz on September 4, 2011 at 2:00 am

    When I think of treasure I think of sentimental things.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by JOYE on August 20, 2011 at 10:26 pm

    I think of Pirate treasures. A treasure is something that is special to you and may not be to someone else. Enjoyed the blog.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Posted by JackieW on August 19, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    When I hear the word Treasure I think of the Lost Dutchman’s Gold Mine in Arizona..no one has ever found it and people have been trying for years and years to find it. I also think of a pirate’s treasure chest.

    Like

    Reply

  4. A sunken ship…. with actual pirates gold stashed in some corner of the ship….. all covered in silt and barnacles. ~ Also I think of treasure as the memories I stash away in my mind of special times I enjoyed with my only child, sweet things he said and did as a baby, his baby socks so tiny that I now hang them on my Christmas tree… Those things are my ” treasures”. I pray I never lose those treasured memories.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Posted by Karen H in NC on August 1, 2011 at 1:27 pm

    A chest…as in pirate’s treasure chest…full of gold coins and crowns, jewels and pearls.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

