Shipwrecks, cannibals and muskets, oh my!

I’m working my way through Daniel Defoe’s Robinson Crusoe. What a story! You’ve got your reckless youth who tosses aside his father’s advice and heads off to ruin on the high seas. There’s a tragic shipwreck and the hostile deserted island where  Crusoe finds himself with nothing but a few supplies from the ship. It’s man against the elements with only his wits to serve him. Sounds a bit like Castaway with Tom Hanks? Maybe, but Crusoe has to deal with something Hanks never did. CANNIBALS! Enter his adventures with Friday, a “savage” whom he saves from being eaten and who becomes his dear companion. What a story! What an adventure! Have you read any of the “classics” that continue to draw you in even today? Post a comment and you’re entered in the monthly drawing for an iTunes gift card and a signed book.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Karen H in NC on August 24, 2011 at 2:37 pm

    I read Robinson Crusoe in high school as rrequired reading. We just had our 50 yr reunion if that gives any clue as to how long that was! My stand-by favorites are Gone with the Wind and Pride and Prejudice. I’m also a fan of ‘North and South’ based on the book written by John Jakes and stars Patrick Swayze.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by Becca Dowling on August 23, 2011 at 2:47 pm

    Defoe’s Robinson Crusoe story is taken from true-life adventure of Alexander Selkirk, a rumored ancestor of mine, so I’ve definitely read it a few times. Hank’s movie Castaway was a take on Crusoe as well.

    I still have and read a copy of Jane Eyre that a favorite aunt gave me as a 12th birthday present. I prefer the black & white movie with Orson Welles and Joan Fontaine, albeit an abridged storyline.

    My parents bought us the Readers Digest Young Readers Classic books when we were children so I’ve read many. Those that I enjoyed most I checked out of the library to read the unabridged version.

    Please do enter me in your drawing.

    Becca

    Like

    Reply

  3. PS email is wb6oxm at juno dot com
    Thank you!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Pride and Prejudice is one classic we love! Thanks for entering us in the drawing!

    Joye & Faith

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

