Those entertaining zillionaires

I recently read that there is a list somewhere ( of the Forbes variety) noting the top paid humans in entertainment. Tyler Perry tops the list as a writer, actor, director, etc. Then we have Jerry Bruckheimer (sailing high on that Pirates wave) and his television franchises such as CSI and The Amazing Race.  You’ve got Steven Spielberg and Elton John coming in next and infamous smirker Simon Cowell, too. Author James Patterson is worth an estimated $84 million and Dr. Phil That Dog Won’t Hunt McGraw following closely along with the assorted Howard Stern and Tiger Woods. I’m not sure how Tiger got on the entertainment list but there you go. I am thinking that in this day and age of cynicism and strife, we still enjoy our stories well told. Whether it’s via television, books or songs it’s a part of the human experience to seek out stories that move and enlighten us, and sometimes incite us to action. That makes me feel better about us as a species, actually. Where do you find your stories? Are you moved by the music? Lost in an evocative novel? Transported by your fave television show?

Post your comment and you’re entered to win the September prize…a signed book and iTunes gift card.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Karen H in NC on September 21, 2011 at 12:52 pm

    Good stories on TV…I never watched Sons of Anarchy on TV but I am doing so now via Netflix & Amazon. Now I know what I’ve been missing. My point is this: I am normally not a crier during sad movies or poignant moments in TV shows but while watching an episode of SOA, Season 3, there was a moment in one of the episodes that actually brought tears to my eyes, many tears…enough to run down my cheeks. What’s so surprising is this is NOT a soft, girly program. That’s a well-written script that can do that to hard-hearted me!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by Ben Susser on September 19, 2011 at 10:12 pm

    If the story is good and presented well, it really doesn’t matter what media is used to communicate it. I enjoy reading, because my mind can create the characters and scenes described in the book – but there has to be good descriptions for me to make a reference point, and a good plot to hold my interest in undertaking this exercise. If well acted, TV, movies, the stage, etc. can also communicate a story well. In fact, it may enhance the story (or, in some cases, detract from it). Music is also a wonderful way to communicate a story, but again, it depends on both substance and execution.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Posted by Kelly Y. in Virginia on September 19, 2011 at 6:59 pm

    I absolutely Love Music! Music, specifically Praise and Worship and/or Contemporary Christian, is where I find my stories. Music is not just a bunch of words strung together. Music tells a story and more often than not, it draws me in. Music moves me more than anything else. Next, I think I’d have to say the written word moves me. I love being transported to another time and place in a well written story.
    Blessings,
    Kelly Y.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

