Are we living in a Star Trek world?

Did you ever see some new piece of technology and think…I’m sure I saw that on an old Star Trek episode? I had that feeling the first time I saw someone with Blue Tooth jammed  in their ear. That just screamed of Lt. Commander Uhura,  to me.  Today I had the same feeling when I read an article that scientists in Iceland are going to pump seltzer into basalt which willl somehow combine calcium and the existing carbon dixode into limestone, thus locking away the naughty carbon dioxide which is the suspected culprit of global warming. I’m not a scientist, I’m a writer, but doesn’t that feel a little like something we might have seen on a certain futuristic t.v. show? I mean if you had thrown in some dilithium crystals and the neutral zone, wouldn’t that sound like something Spock and Kirk might have a chat about on the bridge?

Have you noticed any new fangled technology that reminds you of television fiction? Do tell. Comments will get you entered into the Sept. drawing to win a book and iTunes card.

4 responses to this post.

  1. I still think it’s so amazing that we actually walked on the moon with the technology available at the time.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by Karen H in NC on September 27, 2011 at 1:29 pm

    I was never a Star Trek fan and watched very little of the program. But when we think of the developments in the 20th century…first airplane flight in 1903 to using a B-29 to drop the first A-Bomb in 1945. Even more so since 1945 to 1969; A-bomb to man walking on the moon. Think of the technological changes since those first brick cell & car phones in a bag in the 1980’s…from brick to flip in a heartbeat! From room sized computers to a computer on your lap. Mind boggling to be sure.

    Like

    Reply

  3. I think that Gene Redenberry was way ahead of his time, wasn’t he? Live long and prosper right back at you, Ben!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Posted by Ben Susser on September 25, 2011 at 9:09 pm

    Cell phones (especially the flip kind) reminded me of the communicators used on Star Trek. iPads and tablets similarly remind me of the devices the ensigns carried when reporting to the bridge officers. I remember watching a program called something like “The Science of Star Trek,” which discussed scientists developing things like cloaking devices (the ability to create the perception of invisibility through refracting light), medical tri-corders to mobily assess a patient’s vitals, and even transporter technology. While fiction, it looks like Star Trek has not only inspired a generation to pursue “new frontiers,” it has also influenced the thinking for developing new technology. With the peaceful goals and missions representing Star Trek, I relish the bright future that they envision. Live long and prosper!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

