Is it out of style to give thanks?

I shouldn’t read the newspaper. There is so much frustration and anger swirling around those pages, plenty of desperation. The haves and have nots, the unemployment rate, etc. etc.. I was stewing about it this morning while I walked the faithful canine who doesn’t give a fig about the economic situation. She has her kibble, her walks, her bushes to sniff, and our family to whom she is completely devoted. It made me think that perhaps I need to revisit the old thankful list. I am still the land of opportunity, though the opportunities may be fewer and farther between. I am still in a country where I can walk into my church and worship freely. This week I put my ballot into the mail for our local election. My kids are clothed (though not in any high fashion togs) and they are fed (though not on choice cuts of meat and expensive lunch snacks.) Papa Bear and I are both employed and so far the fourteen year old van is holding up, as is the nineteen year old Toyota (though one does need to open the door with pliers.) We are still surrounded by family and living in one of the most beautiful states in the union (if you’ll forgive the pride.) Ah that’s better. I’m feeling thankful again and that’s the way it should be.

Thoughts? Comment on the blog and you’re entered into the raffle for an iTunes card and signed book.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Karen H in NC on November 9, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    Thanks for the inspirational post. We all need to take time to smell the roses everyday and 99% of us don’t.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by Ben Susser on November 9, 2011 at 2:17 am

    We do have a lot to be thankful for – even under the current terrible economic situation and many of us are facing tough times, our overall quality of life is so much better than anyplace else on the planet.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jane Squires on November 7, 2011 at 4:35 pm

    I try not to listen to the news but my husband is so obbsessed like most men with it. I don’t even like to listen to weather because they hound it into you and nothing may happen or it may be worse. I prefer to just trust God.
    Please enter me to win.
    May God truly bless you today and sounds like he needs to bless you with a new vehicle. But I know how that is.
    Jane Squires jrs362 at hotmail.com

    Like

    Reply

  4. Posted by Heidi Kortman on November 7, 2011 at 3:18 pm

    Yes, I do much the same thing, because I know it short-circuits the development of a critical and depressing spirit. It may take a few minutes, but it always works.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

