When do you get in that Christmas mood?

I’ve been contemplating decking the proverbial halls. As soon as that turkey debris is cleared away, I am ready for Christmas carols and holiday decor. My thirteen year old, Yogi, says she’s just not feeling it yet. It got me to thinking….when do you start feeling that rush of ‘it’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas?’  Do you have a certain time or event that kick starts your holiday? Do share. Blog comments are entered in the gift card/book drawing as usual.

14 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Susan Karsten on December 5, 2011 at 5:09 pm

    Can’t wait to go out on our own land and get a tree! We have a lumber forest and at the edges are some trees that grew on their own and are the right size for Christmas for us.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by Karen H in NC on November 28, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    I start feeling ‘in the Christmas mood’ when I make my hotel reservations for my trip to Michigan to spend Christmas with my children. Down here in NC, when the temps are still in the high 60’s to low 70’s, it’s hard to get in the spirit. But, that quick blast of winter weather I get when I visit MI reminds me why I moved to NC in the first place!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Nice, Jackie. I’m glad you had a big crowd for Thanksgiving! Love that.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Posted by Lori Altebaumer on November 27, 2011 at 9:58 pm

    I start my Christmas season with a new Christmas book to read each year. I love finding THE BOOK each year. And it is always a Christmas story. I don’t let myself start it until after Thanksgiving. Sitting in the living room alone before everyone else is up or after they have gone to bed, with a fire in the fireplace and the tree lights on and a cozy Christmas story helps me slow down and reflect.

    Like

    Reply

  5. I decorated my house Saturday, but still not feeling it yet. This was first year of college for my youngest son, and he just left to go back to school. I hosted Thanksgiving this year to 18 people, and we had a great time. So I think by next weekend I’ll be ready to fully dive into Christmas. Although it’s the big game for SEC winner, so maybe next
    Sunday. That’s my final answer.
    Enjoyed your post!
    Joyfully,
    Jackie
    joyfuljel(at)gmail(dot)com

    Like

    Reply

  6. Last year we put up the tree the day after Thanksgiving. I have an eight-year-old daughter who is as exxcited about Christmas as I am, so maybe we’ll put up our tree and nativity scene tomorrow. I too, listen to Handel’s Messiah and Christmas music year round. Merry Christmas everyone :)!

    Like

    Reply

  7. Posted by Daphne Webb on November 27, 2011 at 3:12 am

    First weekend of December is when the tree goes up. We listen to Transibberan Orchestra while we decorate the house. Eventually we hit the mall, not only to shop, but to enjoy the sights and sounds of the holiday.

    Like

    Reply

  8. Posted by Ben S. on November 26, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    I guess we should have the holiday spirit with us all year long, but every year it seems like the commercialization aspect of the Christmas is cranked back earlier and earlier. We’ve seen mall decorations, lights, and trees go up even before Halloween!!! However, in light of the terrible economy, I guess that holiday cheer is a good thing to have spiritially as well as economically.

    Like

    Reply

  9. Actually, I get into the Christmas mood long before anyone else does. I occasionally play Christmas music throughout the year. I started hitting the Christmas music hard in August. I don’t know what else to say only that Christmas is my favorite time of the year! By the way, our Christmas tree has been up for over a week now.

    Blessings!
    Judy B

    judyjohn2004[at]yahoo[dot]com

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

