Gingerbread house goes to the dogs…..

Ah those gingerbread houses! My children love to construct them with as much candy decor as they can possibly manage to affix. For two years running, we’ve had a gingerbread catastrophe as our dog Nala managed to get hold of those spicy delights while we were away at Christmas Eve service. One year we came home to find only a starlight mint stuck to the carpet and a very satisfied dog. The next year we put our creation way back on the kitchen counter out of doggy range, or so we thought. That year she ate everything but the startlight mints again.

Here’s a link to the world record holding largest gingerbread house ever (a whopping 67 feet tall) which would no doubt give my dog indigestion for years to come. http://www.delish.com/food/food-articles/largest-gingerbread-house-guinness

Got any gingerbread house memories? Comment on the blog to be entered in the December drawing for a Starbuck’s card and signed book.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Patrice on December 29, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    I have always wanted to make a gingerbread house, but I never did so as a kid, and I’m not sure how to go about it now that I’m an adult.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by Linda S. Leonard on December 20, 2011 at 9:01 pm

    One of my daughter’s made me a gingerbread house in school (20+ years ago) and I still put it out every year. I’ve only had to replace a piece of the pretzel fence and a few chex squares that were part of the path leading to the door. Those hand made gifts from our children still remain our most treasured.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Growing up my dad would throw a Christmas Party for all his employees kids. One of the managers wives would bake and pre-assemble a gingerbread house for every child. We would have all different kinds of candy on trays and tubes of all different colors of icing. The pictures from those parties are some of the favorites in our company photo albums. At this time all those kids are grown but a number of us work for the company and can’t wait unfil there are a bunch of kids at the right age to restart that tradition.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Posted by Suzan Michet on December 13, 2011 at 7:26 pm

    We buy one of those kits that make any gingerbread shape … house, sleigh, train, we’re not fussy ! Most years our tradition is to go to the grocery store after christmas and get them when they are on sale, gives the kids something to look forward to while they are still off from school.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Posted by Karen H in NC on December 7, 2011 at 3:32 pm

    @ Bill…there are Gingerbread House kits that you can buy. I think they come complete with all the decorations to finish your house. Might be something you would want to look into!

    Never had one when I was a kid and didn’t make one for my kids either. My mom worked when I was a kid as did I when my kids where small. Having a gingerbread house at Christmas didn’t seem to be anything we ever wanted. Now a good batch of Christmas cookies….that’s another story! Gotta have decorated sugar cookies and we would those as fast as they were decorated….almost!

    Like

    Reply

  6. We never made them as kids but now that I have kids of my own we make one each Christmas. My girls (twins) are ten and they love to help ‘glue’ the walls and decorations together. It can get pretty messy but fun.

    Like

    Reply

  7. Posted by Ben Susser on December 5, 2011 at 6:41 pm

    Only that as a kid, my mother promised to make one for me and she never did; I told this sad story to my wife, thinking that she might get the hint, but she hasn’t done this either! God forbid that I figure out how to bake one myself! LOL

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

