Do you have an encourager?

I heard in church today that Barnabas was called ‘the son of encouragement.’ How amazing is that? I had a conversation with Yogi and Boo Boo lately about whether the adults in their lives are encouragers or not. Mixed reviews. It made me think about my own life, particularly in the area of writing. I had a teacher in high school who was a published author himself and offered a ‘Brown Bag Writers’ club at lunch time. I guess that really lit the fire for me to see what I could do with the written word. Of course, my biggest encourager now is my husband. Papa Bear patiently listens to my hairbrained ideas and talks through every writing related dilemma I manage to get myself embroiled in. He says he’s my biggest fan so I guess he’s my Barnabas.

So how about you? Do you have a Barnabas? Tell us about him/her.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Ben S. on January 30, 2012 at 12:51 am

    I too had a great teacher in high school who encouraged me to write, but my greatest “encourager” is my sense of insecurity. As a result, I tend to be overprepared and very thorough to be sure that I have caught and addressed everything. I worry about things, forcing me to think about solutions shhould certain events occur. As a result, I am self-motivated to be at my best.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

