Should people know their IQ’s?

I’m having such a dilemma with the issue of IQ. I feel strongly that there is no benefit in knowing your IQ, only possible damage. Too low? Oy! I’m not very smart! I can’t expect much from myself. Too high? I’m a genius, much smarter than the average bear and people will expect more of me than I can give. In the middle? Ho hum. I’m average. Is there any worse word than average? I think that God gives everyone all the tools they need to do the work He’s set before them. Putting a number value on that most divine gift of intelligence seems somehow disrespectful to me. Hmmm. I’m wondering about my own reaction to this issue.

What say you, oh bloggers? If you could know your IQ or your children’s, would you want to know? How do you think it might help or hinder you?

All answers get you in the February drawing for a signed book and an iTunes card.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Karen H in NC on February 2, 2012 at 1:14 pm

    I don’t know mine. I may have been tested in school, but that was so many years ago and I don’t recall of ever hearing the results. Who knows what tests I took back in my school days? I do know my shortfall would be in math….I still have trouble with it today. I don’t know my children’s IQ either. I don’t believe they were ever tested in school.

    Like

    Reply

  2. I don’t know mine. My mother learned what it was, after I’d been tested. She always refused to tell me. What I do know is that I learned not to like hearing the word potential, because when I did, I’d always have fallen short.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

