Where’s your favorite place?

It would probably surprise no one who knows me that I’m a homebody. In the springtime, my favorite home spot is my backyard, next to the flowering penstemon. From that vantage point I can see the bees doing their thing around the flowers and I get a ‘bird’s eye view’ so to speak, of my yellow finches gobbling up niger seed. Occasionally Boydie the box turtle will take a meander around her outdoor sanctuary and poke at a beetle or two and my faithful doggie companion Nala sits close by, enjoying her nap in the sun. You see why it’s my favorite place? Do you have a place like that?

What’s your favorite place? Comment for the free book/Starbucks card drawing on May 31st.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Linda L. on May 22, 2012 at 12:25 am

    One of my favorite places is a beach on Sanibel Island, beach combing for shells and waiting for the changing of the tides. Not only do I enjoy the sounds of the waves but the sound of the many shells hitting together as they roll in with the waves and are taken back out again. I await the many treasures that are offered up.

    Like

    Reply

  2. That’s a beautiful spot! My favorite spot is the Botanical Garden in Atlanta. I feel inspired and very peaceful there (I don’t work on Tuesdays, so I have the opportunity to just about have the place to myself… heaven). The “people quiet” lets me hear all kinds of sounds – leaves rustling, birds singing or stirring up mischief, the sound of the wind. Its quite lovely.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Posted by Ben S. on May 9, 2012 at 11:19 pm

    My favorite place is my backyard. Some background information – I grew up in an apartment in the city, and I woul get excited seeing the only wildlife around – squirrels. For me, Mutual of Omaha’s Wild Kingdom was my portal to free roaming animals that I could only see in zoos. I grew up (although there is some debate about that), and bought a house in Northern NJ. It’s not in the middle of nowhere, its in a very well-developed area. Nonetheless, I am fascinated at the animals that I see – deer, hedgehogs, rabbits, turkeys, bluejays, robins – each making appearances in my own Wild Kingdom of my backyard. Even when there isn’t an animal wandering about, the trees and grass have a very calming influence on me. It sure beats the asphalt jungle that I grew up in!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

