Who’s your mama?

Mother’s Day is Sunday ( in case you don’t have that in all caps on your calendar/iPad/Droid.) I’ve spent some time lately thinking on the subject of mothers after having helped a class full of young peeps write a poem for their moms. What did they most like about their maternal figure? Nearly all of them said, “I love her because she helps me.” Helping, encouraging, lifting up. That’s momhood in a nutshell. When I think of my own mom, the word that comes to mind is strength. Though my mother is tiny and delicate in stature, she gritted her way through countless moves, four daughters (imagine those teen years) and plenty of financial ups and down. She’s strong, my mom, and that’s what I hope my daughters will learn too. Life will bring pain along with joy. Life will bring hardship as well as ease. Life will hurt sometimes, but you are strong and you will be strong for your children too.

What word comes to mind when you think of your mom or another significant woman in your life? Comment to be entered in the May drawing for a book and Starbuck’s card.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Well said! My word for my mom is determination. She finished her Ph.d. when I was 3 and my sister was 2, and has taken a make it happen approach to life while still maintaining the grace and social skills expected of a good southern woman. To be 1/2 of what she is…

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by Ben S. on May 12, 2012 at 3:19 pm

    Tomorrow is an amazing day for my family – and all estrogen related. Our oldest child, our daughter, graduates from college. For this, my 85 year old mother flew up from Flordia and my sister from NY is joining us as well as we trek up to Vermont. We will be meeting my wife’s family up there as well, so we can celebrate both her graduation and mother’s day. But that’s not all. Sunday also turns out to be my wife’s birthday! What an awesome day!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

