Twenty Seconds I Will Never Forget, remembering the Loma Prieta Quake.

How ironic that I’ve just finished the final edits on a romantic suspense novel about a massive San Francisco earthquake. Twenty three years ago today we experienced the Loma Prieta quake. Here in California we are used to occasional earthquakes and most of the time they pass by unnoticed. On that particular day, folks were settling in to watch the World Series between the San Francisco Giants and the Oakland A’s. Measuring 6.9 on the Richter Scale, the quake lasted only 15-20 seconds, but what an impact those seconds made. Loma Prieta killed 62 people, caused billions of dollars in property damage and resulted in 22 structural fires and the collapse of buildings and a span of the Bay Bridge.

I was sitting in my parents home, chatting when the quake struck. My mother and I ran into the front yard and saw the street rolling and pitching like waves on the ocean. I remember thinking how much power I was witnessing at that very moment, and how powerless I was in the face of such a massive display.  Later I learned of the collapse of the Cypress Structure, a multi leveled freeway that pancaked, trapping people and ultimately  killing 43. For a long while after that quake, I would get very nervous when stuck under an overpass for any length of time. Though the quake was 23 years ago, I remember it vividly.

How about you? Have you experienced a massive natural “event” that you will never forget?

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Ben S on October 18, 2012 at 12:11 pm

    Last year, in an elevator at my office in Newark, NJ, our car shook very violently. I thought that it was just an elevator hiccup, but when we got out, we noticed that the shaking continued. It was a small earthquake, but of all places, in Newark, NJ? Would never have guessed it could happen here!!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

