Does your kid’s Halloween candy disappear?

Got a sweet tooth? Or two? I’ve got several and October brings out the candy monster in me. Have you noticed that stores are now filled with Halloween candy? Thanksgiving candy? CHRISTMAS candy? Oh dear. What’s a weak willed writer to do?

I must reveal that there is a critter known as Fat Rat (a resident in our house) who sneaks out at night and pilfers sweets from the Halloween buckets. The odd thing is, this rat is a selective pilferer. Peanut butter cups? He loves ‘em. Mellowcreme pumpkins? Gone. Candy corns? Snatched right up. Sweet tarts and Nerds? The rat passes those right by.  Now isn’t that odd?

Do you have a Fat Rat in your house? If so, what Halloween treats will he be looking for this year?

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by JOYE on October 27, 2012 at 10:48 pm

    I try not to purchase anything with chocolate in it. It seems to mysteriously disappear after and even before Halloween. I love it all so have to pace myself.
    JWIsley(at)aol(dot)com

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jackie Wisherd on October 27, 2012 at 5:50 pm

    I always buy candy that I like in case it is ever leftover then I’ll eat it. If I buy it too early for some reason it disappears and then I have to replenish the bowl before the Triick or Treaters come by my door.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Your wife is pretty smart, Ben. I suggested to Yogi and Boo Boo that we hand out raisins, but that got the double thumbs down.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Posted by Ben S. on October 24, 2012 at 12:16 am

    My wife hit on the key to keeping the Fat Rat at bay – we buy good Halloween candy and treats that neither of us like!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

