Hurricanes or “willy willies”, odd facts about hurricanes

Continuing on in the natural disaster vein, my research has pointed me to several simply bizarro facts about hurricanes. I suppose the topic fascinates me so much because I have never actually experienced a hurricane. For this, I am grateful! Here are the five oddest facts I’ve learned.

Anyone who would like to add on a comment or share some wisdom/personal experience will be entered into the November drawing for the Starbucks card and signed book.

Bizarro top five hurricane facts…..

1. A hurricane can produce enough energy in one day to run the lights in Las Vegas for years.

2. Hurricanes in the Southern Hemisphere spin clockwise. Northern Hemisphere hurricanes spin counter clockwise.

3. Hurricanes never combine to form a “super” storm, but the storms can circle each other which is called the Fujiwhara effect.

4.  In Australia, hurricanes are called “willy-willies.” (Can any Aussies out there confirm this one?)

5. It’s a myth that opening the windows of the house during a hurricane will equalize the pressure so the windows won’t explode. You’ll only wind up allowing in wind, rain and debris.

4 responses to this post.

  1. I hope all that is reading this was blessed during the last one with no damage…

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by Ellen on November 13, 2012 at 3:46 am

    I don’t know any interesting facts about hurricanes but having been through three of them in my life so far (and that number may increase since I live on the Texas coast where there is always the possibility exists that there will be one during the season) I may experience some of the interesting facts sooner or later.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Posted by Ben S. on November 13, 2012 at 12:58 am

    I saw a PBS NOVA program some time ago, and it basically said that hurricanes were mother nature’s way of providing air conditioning to global hot spots. I am oversimpliifying this, but it certainly is a costly (both in loss of life/injury and ecomically) process.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

