Dame Agatha saves a child in real life

I cut my reading teeth on Nancy Drew and Miss Marple. I used to spend time trying to observe people and clues like these two super sleuths. Sadly, I did not hone my investigatory techniques but I sure hung on every fiction detail in Agatha Christie’s stories. So did a nurse working in a London hospital in 1977. A young Arab girl was brought in, very sick. Doctors were unable to figure out the cause and on the child’s sixth day in the hospital she began to lose her hair. The attending nurse remembered Christie’s The Pale Horse, which she was reading at the time, in which the characters were killed by thallium poisoning. The nurse shared her theory and test revealed that was indeed the problem plaguing the girl. Case closed and a life saved thanks to a clever nurse and Dame Agatha!

-story taken from Anecdotes, by Clifton Fadiman

What was your favorite Agatha Christie story? Or were you a fan of another type of book as a child? Comment to get your name entered in the November Starbucks card and book drawing.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Olga on November 19, 2012 at 5:49 pm

    What an interesting story, Dana! I’ve read sooo many stories by Agatha Christie, that I can’t name the favorite. I did love The Orient Express, too!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by Beth Bunch on November 15, 2012 at 2:23 pm

    Murder on The Orient Express was one of my favorites. I read and reread everyone of her books. I especially loved Miss Marple and Hercule Poirot.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Posted by Ben S. on November 15, 2012 at 1:06 pm

    And Then There Were None. As a boy, I remember that I couldn’t put it down!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

