Getting famous for the wrong thing…Clement C. Moore and Jolly Old Elf

Santa SleighA respected scholar who compiled a Hebrew lexicon, wrote treatises and a well-known attack on President Thomas Jefferson will always be remembered for his most widely known work…a poem about a chubby red suited guy flying around with airborne reindeer. I love the irony of that! Clement C. Moore wrote A Visit from St. Nicholas in 1822, to amuse his nine children. It was a private ditty, “a trifle” as he called it until a family friend had it printed anonymously in a tiny newspaper. Without the benefit of Facebook, Twitter or the World Wide Web, Moore’s “trifle” gave Santa his jolly persona and was reprinted around the globe. It embarrassed Moore to no end that his serious works paled in comparison to a poem for children. Go figure!

What are your favorite Christmas stories or poems? Post a comment to be entered in the December drawing for an iTunes card and signed book.

10 responses to this post.

  1. Peter Spier’s Christmas. For poems, Phyllis McGinley’s A Wreath of Christmas Legends, and God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by Ben S. on December 23, 2012 at 3:01 am

    A Christmas Carol is my favorite story, Twas the Night Before Christmas is my favorite poem, my favorite “non-fiction” story is Yes Virginia, There is a Santa Claus, and my favorite song is John Lennon’s Happy Christmas. Speaking of which, Merry Christmas and happy holidays to you, your family, and your readers.

    Like

    Reply

  3. I don’t about stories or poems right this second, but I do know I’ve been singing O Come, O Come, Emmanuel for days. I never realized how powerful the 2nd and 3rd verses are. Love the Selah version!

    Like

    Reply

  4. How the Grinch Stole Christmas will always be my favorite. It’s been around since I was a kid, and truthfully, I always feel a little like the Grinch at the beginning of the season. Slowly, I come around and realize that Christmas doesn’t have to be what the retailers dictate. True Christmas memories are made by the heart and not by the wallet.

    Like

    Reply

  5. I love the “Christmas slippers” story that they turned into a song. Makes me want to cry every time.

    Thank you for this opportunity.

    clSwalwell@gmail.com

    In Him,

    Cheri 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

