“Les Mis was a BOOK first????”

4124635_sCan you hear bibliophiles all over the world sighing? Yes, that is the question I heard from the mouth of a whippersnapper (who, by definition, is anyone under thirty.) I should not have been surprised, I guess. I don’t suppose Victor Hugo novels are the top of everyone’s TBR pile. After all, the man churned out heavy novels, both topically and sheer number of pages. He was also a strong personality, having accused Napoleon of being a traitor to France and consequently being exiled. Even though Napoleon pardoned him, Hugo refused to return to France until the little emperor was no longer in power. I loved another anecdote I read about the author. Hugo, wanting to check with his representative on the success of Les Mis, sent a telegram with only one character.. “?” The representative responded back with only one about the popularity of his novel…”!”

I wonder what Hugo would have thought if he knew a whole group of people would experience his work without ever cracking open his book? ???? !!!!

Have you seen any movies that were inspired by books? What are you favorites? Comment to be entered in the drawing for an iTunes card and signed book.

8 responses to this post.

  1. In my opinion, the Colin Firth/Jennifer Ehle “Pride and Prejudice” is the quintessential screen adaptation of a great novel.

    Like

    Reply

  2. yes, I have watched many movies based on books….the books are always better to me. …more detail and I can imagine the scenes in my mind. But my hubby doesn’t enjoy reading so it is good for him to see the movies.

    Like

    Reply

    • True, Rhonda. My oldest daughter doesn’t like to read either and thanks to the movie versions of The Help and Life of Pi, we’ve been able to experience the stories together. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  3. Posted by Suzan Michet on December 28, 2012 at 4:48 pm

    I read The Help first and then saw the movie … usually the wrong order for me, as I get a picture in my head of how the characters look and then am disappointed by the actors chosen and the scenes left out … but in this case it still worked for. Also read the Hunger Games first and then saw the first movie.

    Like

    Reply

    • I read the Help, then saw the movie and I thought both were excellent. I read Hunger Games, but didn’t see the movie because I’m squeamish and I didn’t want to see kids die. What did you think of the Hunger Games movie, Suzan?

      Like

      Reply

  4. Posted by Ben S. on December 28, 2012 at 3:15 am

    Clueless, brilliantly inspired by Jane Austen’s Emma.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

