Best LAST lines of novels…ending with style!

I know many writers who finish their toiled-over manuscripts with “The End.” I was trained as a young writer that if you needed to put those two words at the end, you didn’t really tie things up well enough. The reader should know they’re at the end without those two words. Thinking along those lines, I found an interesting article about incredible last lines of novels, such as….

“So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past.” The Great Gatsby,
F. Scott Fitzgerald. Much more effective than “The End” don’t you think?

It would be nice, though, if we could stamp a neat “the end” on certain phases of our lives and mark them permanently in the past. Personally, I was glad to see my teen bookkeeping job come to a halt. Believe me, balancing numbers is not in my skill set and the world is better off if I am not in charge of the reconciling. What phases or activities are you happy to have ended in your life? Comments get you entered in the January drawing for a $25.00 Amazon card and signed book.

***Here’s a link to the NPR article with famous last lines if you’ve a yen to see more! 🙂 http://n.pr/WYpPO7

4 responses to this post.

  1. rough year…me on disability from teaching at age 49 and hubby unemployed but God is good all the time and we made it! rhonda_nash_hall@comcast.net

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by Ellen on January 2, 2013 at 4:22 am

    Although I really enjoyed teaching teenagers I was glad to finally retire after 40 years.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

