King/Queen of romance writers? Hmmm. What’s your vote?

crownAnd now to nominate the royals for the category that sells like mad, yet nobody will admit to reading…romance! It’s funny how romance novels are often dissed as trashy, fluff pieces, yet a whole gaggle of people seem to read them voraciously. According to the Romance Writers of America website, romance novels far outperform other genres of literature, including religious/inspirational books, mystery novels, science fiction and classic literary fiction. So who would be considered the queen of this secretly popular genre? I think I’d have to nominate Nora Roberts, or “The Nora” as fans playfully refer to her. She has more than 400 books in print (romance and a sci fi detective series), a number I find staggering! Nora says, “I think love matters most – it’s the most powerful emotion that we have.”
http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-3445_162-57518459/nora-roberts-happily-ever-after-life/

For King? A guy who doesn’t write romance, Nicholas Sparks. If you ask him, he’ll tell you he writes fiction about love, yet he isn’t categorized as a romance writer. Why? In my opinion, it’s because he’s a man. If he was a woman writing those stories, we’d sure enough call him a romance writer. Ah well, tomato or toMAHto, his book Safe Haven spent 62 weeks on the USA Today’s bestseller list and many of his novels have zoomed to the big screen.
So what do you think? Are there any romance readers out there (or maybe you have this friend who reads them…) Who would you nominate for King and Queen of Romance writing?

http://www.usatoday.com/story/life/books/2012/12/20/nicholas-sparks-safe-haven-ebook/1782813/

6 responses to this post.

  1. Julie Lessman is the Queen of Passionate Romance!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by Precarious Yates on January 13, 2013 at 5:34 am

    I love your blog name, by the way! That’s the name of one of my favorite movies.

    I’m not much of a romance fan, but I do like Nicholas Sparks, so I’ll go with that nomination.

    For queen, I’d nominate Staci Stallings. Even though I don’t normally read romance, I’ll read her books. They leave me with the feeling that I was glad I spent the last 4-6 hours reading what I did. Time with her books is time that’s never wasted.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Queen: That will go to Jane Myers Perrine, King: ?? I am not familiar with any male romance authors.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

