A blog in which Dennis Rodman and I disagree about children’s books…

basketballDennis Rodman has joined the ranks of Madonna, Henry Winkler and Katie Couric. He’s written a children’s book called Dennis The Wild Bull. Sounds like a nice enough story, a tattooed, double nose-ringed bull is captured and taken to the rodeo to live with other bulls who eventually come to accept him in spite of his unconventional persona. Sounds good to me, but what I couldn’t quite wrap my mind around was Rodman’s quote about the central point of his book.

“More than anything, I just want little kids today just to understand, ain’t no matter what you do in life, be different, rich or poor man, guess what, it’s OK to be who you are pretty much and you’ll be accepted,” Rodman said.

Hmmm. That’s where I got stuck. I don’t really think that’s how it works for most people that aren’t celebrities or Hall of Fame basketball players. I’m going to venture to say that the message should be, “accept who God made you to be, but the world may not accept you because that’s the way the world is.” Happiness doesn’t come through worldly acceptance for the run of the mill human, at least in my view.

It’s what I’ve always thought about Rudolph, that fuzzy Christmas icon who was bullied by his peers because he was different, what with the shiny red nose and all. The reindeer world embraced him only after Santa made a big deal about him and he achieved celebrity reindeer status. Would he have been accepted if he hadn’t become Santa’s go-to deer? I think not.

I will be interested to read Rodman’s book. The man certainly has followed the “be yourself” mantra and that takes courage, but acceptance by the world in my view, shouldn’t be the primary message for youngsters. Ah me. Perhaps I should leave Rodman to his books and stick to my own!

Read more: http://www.nydailynews.com/sports/basketball/rodman-takes-childrens-literature-new-book-article-1.1251712#ixzz2Jl77vWMj

Any thoughts to share on the subject? Would love to hear your remarks.

Leave a Reply

