It’s not about the book on the shelf…it’s about the next one!

speedskaterWriting professionally is all about the “next” project, not the one you just finished. Yes, the book that just hit the shelves is exciting, but those who are in the biz have one eye on the newest release while their fingers are busy on the keyboard with something else entirely. I struggle with this concept because the newest release should be the sole focus of my marketing efforts. More hours should be spent promoting that precious new baby…more Facebook posts! More Twitter updates! More blog interviews and bookstore visits! Instead my enthusiasm is all directed at the “next” project. Case in point, Final Resort, the last in my three book Treasure Seeker Series just came out this month. Yes, I’m promoting and sure I’m tracking reviews, but what have I spent four hours on this morning? The book that is two slots down the road from that one. I’m knee deep in a natural disaster series so it’s hurricane season for me, no more time for the snowy Sierras.

Have I mentioned that I’m a writing fanatic? One project is not enough to keep my feeling up to snuff, so I’m also researching short track speed skating in preperation for an Olympic themed suspense that will release in time for Sochi, 2014. And because my natural bent is humorous mystery, I’m editing another little tome that takes place in Amish country, Ohio. Uh huh, I am slightly crazy most of the time. How can I justify this insane need to write like a fiend? I’ll borrow a slogan from my favorite short track speed champion Apolo Anton Ohno. His motto? “No regrets.” I’ll never come close in my life to what he has achieved, but I’m jolly well going to try to use up every tiny morsel of talent that God gave me while I have the chance. Quick! To the next chapter! The race is on!

Do you feel that passion, that undeniable drive in certain areas of your life? What keeps you pushing forward? Would love to hear your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

