Book reviews for 500 lovely ladies! Sweetest gig ever!

imageI’m back from my stint as book reviewer for the California Women’s Retreat, 2013. It’s the sweetest gig ever! I stuff myself full of books and whittle down a list of my fifteen recommended titles. At the conference, I deliver my findings to 500 women, hungry for some inspiration. The job allows me to exercise my personal life motto; use your words to lift people up. Words that don’t lift people shouldn’t be written down, or texted, or Facebooked or Twittered. This is the reason why the twenty some odd books that didn’t make my recommended list remain a secret. It’s also the reason why I only post reviews for books I find exceptional. People have said to me that reviews are not helpful if they don’t tell people which books to avoid, but I see it differently. If you want my opinion about a book that will lift you up (whether that be via excellent writing, inspirational messages or an old fashioned laugh out loud plot) I’m your gal. If you want a negative review, that’s the job for someone else.

So what book lifted you up recently? Do share! Today is the last day to post a comment to be entered in the drawing for a $25 Amazon Gift Card.

Leave a Reply

