Fiction with more twists than a bag of licorice!

Surprises in books? My fave! Nothing is a faster turn off than an author giving me exactly what I expected. Can you relate? I can think of a few books that have surprised me lately. I’m enjoying The Spellman Files, by Lisa Lutz because I was expecting kind of chick lit mystery. Did I get that? Nope. Heroine is a 28 year old toughie with a soft spot for her sister and a penchant for disastrous relationships who works for her private investigator parents. What’s more, the book shifts in time from the present (where someone important has disappeared) to the past, where the seeds of the situation were born. Lutz has surprised me at every turn. How wonderful, no?
http://www.amazon.com/The-Spellman-Files-A-Novel/dp/B0012F48KU/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1365443459&sr=8-1&keywords=the+spellman+files
The last book that surprised the beejeebers out of me was Gone Girl, by Gillian Flynn. Can’t say I always liked all the surprises (a few I thought were over done and it was hard to find characters to root for) but boy that book had more twists than a bag of licorice! Seriously!2010 01 24_2286
http://www.amazon.com/Gone-Girl-Novel-Gillian-Flynn/dp/030758836X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1365443524&sr=8-1&keywords=Gone+girl
So what books have surprised you in a good way?

4 responses to this post.

  1. Totally feel the same way about Gone Girl! I really liked the book the ending was a bit out there (in my opinion) 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by Suzan Michet on April 11, 2013 at 3:00 pm

    The one that leaps to mind is “Little Bee” by Chris Cleave, which had a wicked twist in it.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

