Three books that inspired me…you?

As an author, I get asked this question often. Which books shaped you as a writer?
Three fiction books that I will never forget:
#1) The Wizard of Oz. The charming imaginary world created by Baum in his books completely captivated me as a youngster. Baum cherished what was good and gently exposed frailties via his incredible creatures. At the heart of it all was a spunky little girl with a good dose of common sense.
#2) Rebecca. To think that a master writer like duMaurier could create a book ripe with tension, rich with atmosphere and suspense while never even mentioning the protagonists first name! I admire that. In this modern day and age we rely so much on violence and gore to create tension when duMaurier could achieve it with pure skill.
#3) Fahrenheit 451. In Bradbury’s classic, Guy Montag is a firefighter who starts fires rather than putting them out in a world where people don’t read books, enjoy nature, spend time by themselves, think independently, or have meaningful conversations. So what do they do instead? Drive very fast, watch television on wall-size sets, and listen to programming via sets attached to their ears. Sounds like a vision of today? It mesmerized me that an astute writer could tap into the psyche so clearly that his fictional themes would become fact.

Those are three of my favorites. Do you have any books that changed the way you see the world? Do share. 8323264_s

7 responses to this post.

  1. 1. The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis
    The first time I read it in my early 20s put me on my face before God.

    2. The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien
    After reading the trilogy on and off for over four years at the request of my older brother, I finished when I was 16. I bawled. My dad asked me what was wrong, if the story ended badly. I sobbed, “No, there just isn’t any more.”

    3. Ruby Among Us by Tina Ann Forkner
    The entire way through the novel I didn’t get the heroine, I didn’t think there could be any way that the author could redeem the ending. And then, wham. I got a whole new view of deception.

    I too liked Redeeming Love and Flowers from the Storm. The latter was the closest I ever came in being so emotionally attached that I had to stop reading for just a few moments because I hurt for him so much.

    Like

    Reply

  2. I’ll play. And I loved Rebecca too.

    1) The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle.
    2) Flowers from the Storm by Laura Kinsale.
    3) Outlander by Diana Gabaldon.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Wow, three great choices. Here are mine although it was hard to choose just three.
    1. A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens. I absolutely love this story of redemption and read it every year. I think the first time I read it, I was about 12. It stuck with me that writing can be about redemption.
    2. Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers. Another novel about redemption and how the power of faith and love in someone’s life can change things for the better.
    3. The Husband by Dean Koontz. This novel shows what an ordinary man can do in the face of evil if he determines to never give up. Something we all need to hear.
    There are many others, but alas, you only let me choose three.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

