Met any unforgettable fictional peeps? The NPR’s top 100.

Which fictional characters pitched a tent in your heart and stayed long after you closed the book? You know what I mean. We’ve all met those characters who were so alive, so incredible (in both good and bad ways) that we cannot forget them. My top three? Antonia (My Antonia, Willa Cather) Charlotte (Charlotte’s Web, E.B. White) and Charlie Gordon (Flowers for Algernon, Daniel Keyes.) Each of these characters had such dignity and strength that made them unforgettable. The NPR came up with a list of the 100 most unforgettable fictional characters since 1900. Here’s the link.

http://www.npr.org/programs/totn/features/2002/mar/020319.characters.html

Have you met any characters in a fiction book that you will never forget? Do tell! Comments get you entered in the April drawing for an iTunes card next Tuesday. ♥Dog reading

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Suzan Michet on April 25, 2013 at 2:26 pm

    Don’t worry Michelle, I think I read a lot and yet there are many on that list that I don’t recognize. My list of memorable characters would have to include Lisa Nelson (The Girl Who Owned a City), Lucy in the Narnia series, Nancy Drew in all those mysteries, Laura Ingalls Wilder (most of what I know is from the books, which I have learned are not completely factual), Harry Potter, Katniss Everdeen, Francie Nolan (A Tree Grows in Brooklyn) … I could go on and on !

    Like

    Reply

  2. Aw man, I’m bad. The first book on that list I’ve actually read is #22 — Catch 22. Although I guess Catch 22 coming in #22 is fairly fitting … 😀

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

