Anatomy of a beach read…what’s in your beach bag?

Summer vacation has arrived and the topic in many reader’s circles is the beach read, a book picked up purely for pleasure to be read for no more noble purpose than pure entertainment. I know as the days tick down until summer, my to-be-read pile is changing. Yes, I still have the books on the craft of writing, and the Pathways to the Common Core to support the teaching end of things. There is also the ever present Christian book I’m in the process of reading to review for the California Women’s Retreat and those I read for my own spiritual feeding (currently, second Peter and a devotional for women.)summer dog Whew! What a batch already, but there is room for that purely pleasurable book, the glorious beach read. My go to genre would be suspense and mystery. I’ve conducted an informal poll on FB and my cyber friends report their perfect “beach reads” fall into the following categories
-suspense/mystery
-Amish
-Romance (historical, contemporary, etc.)
-Poetry

So what type of book would you pack away in your beach bag? What book are you reading right now? Would love to hear about it!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Oh wow. What did you think about the Oz story?

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by Suzan Michet on June 19, 2013 at 9:45 pm

    I’m hoping to get ahead on my book club reading, so I have “The Virgin Cure” and “Mao’s Last Dancer” from the library … on hold I have Linwood Barclay’s next-to-latest thriller (I’ve fallen behind) called “Never Saw it Coming” and the Gregory Maguire retelling of the Oz story, part 2 called “Son of a Witch”.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

