The best advice I ever ignored.

Advice is worth what you pay for it, right? Famous writers are full of handy tips for hammering out that work of staggering genius. Let’s take the subject of inspiration. Author Frank McCourt said in a Writer’s Digest issue, “Sit and quiet yourself. Luxuriate in a certain memory and the details will come. Let the images flow.” Man, that sounds great. I’m thinking, however, that Frank was not trying to corral two daughters, a dog, and on the odd days, a roomful of 26 wiggly third graders. I just don’t really have the time to luxuriate about anything. If I finish the coffee all the way to the bottom, I call that a good morning! With a limited amount of time at my disposal, I rather favor the advice of the late Andy Rooney. “My advice is to not wait to be struck by an idea. If you’re a writer, you sit down and d*** well decide to have an idea. That’s the way to get an idea.”

Not elegant, but wise. When you approach a creative project do you favor the McCourt method or the Rooney approach? And by the way, do you generally take advice or forge your own path? happy bookDo share! Raffling off an Amazon gift card this month.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Ha!, good advice. I always appreciate Andy. For me it is having a wife who continues to talk to me while I’m writing (since our children are grown).

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by authormirandastone on September 3, 2013 at 1:40 pm

    I actually follow neither approach. I wait to be struck by an idea. But I find that the more I write, the more ideas I have. Some are good, some not so much, but I try to work with each one.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

