Introvert, or life of the party? Tips for becoming a temporary extrovert.

It’s party time! Are you the one quietly listening in the corner or the chatty girl/guy enjoying the limelight? Most writers I meet (myself included) are introverts. That’s why we write, because we do our best work in relative solitude and use our words to express ideas that don’t come naturally out of our mouths. There is a time, however, that a writer is required to step outside of their introversion. Perhaps it’s the chance to do a radio interview. Maybe you’ll have the good fortune to win an award and hence, deliver the necessary acceptance speech. It could be as simple as speaking to a neighborhood book group. It is possible to rustle up some introversion when required? Let me encourage you that it’s completely possible. I do it all the time. The key? Make it about the people you’re talking to and not yourself. Engage your audience. Ask them questions. Listen to their dreams and aspirations. Care about them. It’s amazing, but I think if you can do it, you’ll find that you’ve been blessed by the opportunity to encourage others by just stepping out a tiny bit.Cartoon mom

Are you an introvert or an extrovert? Are there times in your personal or professional life when you have had to step outside your comfort zone? I’d love to hear your comments. Giving away an Amazon gift card this month.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cindy on September 24, 2013 at 6:17 pm

    People are often surprised, but I am also an introvert. I definitely recharge with quiet and get overwhelmed when surrounded by people too long. I love your thought about ‘making it about the people you are talking to’. It’s always better when we take the focus off ourselves!

    Like

    Reply

  2. I was just discussing this with my husband the other day. We decided that I was somewhere between an introvert and an extrovert. My favorite way to recharge is to be left in peace for an hour with a book or my laptop – no interruptions, no phone calls, etc. In saying that, I recognize the importance of networking and I am genuinely interested in other people. My family moves house a lot and with each move I push myself to get involved in various activities and meet new people. It doesn’t come naturally but it does pay dividends in feeling connected to my community. Plus, the myriad of personalities I meet and experiences I engage in is great fodder for my writing!!

    Like

    Reply

    • That’s super! I think sometimes we believe extroversion is something you have or don’t have, but it’s comforting to know it’s a skill that can be summoned up with a little courage! Thank you for sharing. 🙂

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

