The ten greatest fiction novels…or not!

Quick! What are the ten greatest fiction novels of all time? Depends a lot on whom you ask, doesn’t it? A book is a subjective journey that might strike one person as life changing and another as a waste of time. Perhaps we can agree on a few basic requirements. What do you think of this one? All great fiction novels feature unforgettable characters. Do you agree? Here is a list of Time Magazine’s Top 10 Fiction novels. I will speak boldly and say they all feature vivid, larger than life characters (though I confess I nave not read Lolita or The Stories of Anton Chekov!) 2010 01 24_2286

What do you think? Did any of these protagonists stick in your heart and mind? Giving away a Starbuck’s card this month.

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert
War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy
Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
Hamlet by William Shakespeare
The Great Gatsby F. Scott Fitzgerald
In Search of Lost Time by Marcel Proust
The Stories of Anton Chekhov by Anton Chekhov
Middlemarch by George Eliot

6 responses to this post.

  1. Of those I’ve read Madame Bovary, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, Hamlet, The Great Gatsby, & Middlemarch. The heroes of the novels were memorable, but not in a good way. I remember how angry they made me! They were so self-involved, with the exception of Gatsby and Dorothea who were preoccupied trying to obtain the affections of others who were incredibly self-involved.

    My own list would include Little Women, A Tale of Two Cities, Jane Eyre, Wuthering Heights, Pride and Prejudice, The Great Gatsby, Hamlet (although I’m surprised The Times included it because that’s really a play, not a novel), Peter Pan (because if we’re going to do plays, that needs to be included), White Noise, & Surfacing.

    Like

    Reply

    • True enough. Memorable characters can be infuriating too! I was particularly maddened by the characters in Gatsby. Memorable, but maddening! Thanks for the comment.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      Like

      Reply

  2. Posted by Suzan Michet on October 7, 2013 at 6:10 pm

    Hmm, I think Time and I would very different lists … I never liked The Great Gatsby and a number of the other ones I haven’t read … Though I completely agree on the Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. I can’t do ten off the top of my head, but I know for sure that “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn” and “The Island of the Blue Dolphins” would have to be on there.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Hamlet’s rather a given, haha. How can you forget the title character’s name… Gatsby is a pretty iconic character, too, superficially larger than life and very memorable.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

