Do you like your books to trick you?

Trick or treat? I like both in my books. Sure I want the writing to be sweet, satisfying, soulful, but I do enjoy a little tricky twist in there too. Stems from my beginning as a mystery writer, I think. Mystery writers live for that moment when they can fool the reader so completely they will gasp and say, “I never saw that coming!” Perhaps the biggest surprise ending of all time? Agatha Christie’s The Murder of Roger Ackroyd, published in 1926 featuring the implacable Hercule Poirot. In the event you haven’t read it, I’ll refrain from spoiling the surprise!

Do you like it when an author fools you? Can you recall a book that surprised you? Giving away ahalloween treatsn Amazon card for our October treat!

9 responses to this post.

  1. BACK IN THE DAY I READ SIDNEY SHELDON BOOKS A LOT … READ THEM ALL AND MASTER OF THE GAME TWICE … ANYWAY I’M HAPPY TO SAY I READ MOSTLY CHRISTIAN BOOKS NOW AND CHICKEN SOUP FOR THE SOUL … PATRICE WHYNOTT ….

    Like

    Reply

  2. There have been several that were written by Terri Blackstock that twisted and turned me so much. She has a great way of creating a great surprise at the end of her stories.

    Like

    Reply

  3. I remember the first time I read The Woman in White I couldn’t put it down. I was intrigued! I love a good twist.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Hrm, I’ve been slacking on reading good thriller books lately. Last I remember would probably be a Dan Brown. Not super shocking twists, but they’re entertaining…

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

