What in the world is a na-no-wri-mo?

It’s November which means it’s time for you to sit down and write that 50,000 word novel. No joke. To get you motivated, the National Novel Writing Month Contest has begun. It’s an easy contest to win. You just have to finish! The contest is sponsored by a non profit organization of the same name. Write your book, submit it to them by month’s end for word count verification, and you’re declared a winner. Lest you think nothing big comes of this, Sara Gruen’s Water for Elephants was a Na No Wri Mo project, as was Erin Morganstern’s The Night Circus. And really, if you sit down and finish a novel in a month, how could you not be a winner in your own eyes?

So what are you waiting for? Get thee to a keyboard!
Have you ever wanted to write a book? Tell us about it! Giving away a Walmart card this month. All comments get you entered in the drawing. Cornucopia

http://www.npr.org/blogs/monkeysee/2013/11/04/242946684/thatll-always-be-the-dream-national-novel-writing-month

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Valamere Mikler on November 9, 2013 at 5:05 am

    I have often thought about writing a book. But like others, I have put it off because of life’s distractions. As soon as I finally make the decision to just start writing, I’ll probably tackle doing a mystery or suspense. Sometimes I feel the biggest delay in writing a book is the fear that no one will want to read my book. I wonder if anyone else struggle with that fear as well…

    Like

    Reply

    • Hey, Valamere! I am glad you have that book in you! Mystery and suspense are my favorite genres. I still wonder if people will want to read my books and I’ve written dozens of them, but books tend to find a way to the people who need/want to read them somehow. I hope you tackle your book someday, friend!

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      Like

      Reply

  2. Posted by Suzan Michet on November 6, 2013 at 8:18 pm

    Yes, I do feel I have 1 good story in me … but I keep putting it off. I would need to do some historical research, so am thinking about when my kids are old enough to leave at home without me … until then I dream !

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

