When fiction and fact collide…

I often find it eerie when I finish writing about something and see the topic in the headlines shortly thereafter. I finished writing a book with an extraordinary fossil find in the Badlands, only to read about something similar a few weeks later. Wrapping up a series about natural disasters brought me to write about a flood in Colorado which later became a real life scenario. I learned a lot about the horrific power of storms writing Force of Nature and now I listen in dismay about hurricane, 2the catastrophic damage inflicted on the Philippines by Typhoon Haiyan. While I strove for realism in the novel, nothing fictional could come close to the overwhelming devastation wrought on Tacloban by 150 mile an hour winds and a five foot wall of water. It makes me appreciate my job as a fiction writer. No matter how horrible the odds, how crushing the circumstances, I can ensure things turn out all right in the end for my characters.

If only things could be so easily resolved for the poor victims of Typhoon Haiyan.

https://donate.salvationarmyusa.org/TyphoonHaiyan

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Suzan Michet on November 13, 2013 at 3:39 pm

    To me, this indicates that you are a good reflection of the times you live in …

    Like

    Reply

  2. May be you should write a fictionalized account of how poverty ends… 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

