Inspy vs. 50 Shades, grateful for my readers.

In this crazy writing business there is much to complain about. Publisher not doing enough to promote the book? Editors not seeing the author’s vision? Pressure to produce books on ever shortening timelines? It’s the perfect time of year to put on the rose-colored glasses and consider the blessings that come with the business, so here it goes!

I’m very thankful for my readers. I know, it’s cliche to say it, but there are approximately $1.4 billion dollars worth of romance novels purchased every year, so the fact that someone plunks down hard-earned money on my little novels is a great blessing indeed. The inspirational fiction genre is sometimes a hard sell in this world of Fifty Shades of Grey. (Case in point, Fifty Shades has sold 31 million copies worldwide since it’s release!) This makes me even more grateful that some readers will select Cornucopiamy wee little title over something that has massive public attention and the sizzle factor.

What do you find yourself grateful for today? Do share! All comments get you entered to win a Walmart card this month.

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Suzan Michet on November 25, 2013 at 8:10 pm

    In this cold weather, I am so thankful for my home.

    Like

    Reply

  2. I am grateful for having a day free from assignments and work and social obligations, so that I can spend time home alone reading and playing music.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Today, I am thankful it’s the weekend. I’ve just started a job that’s a 2hr commute from home, so it’s nice to spend today at home with my family. I am also thankful for my local library. Our family went there this morning. It’s my happy place. I agree with Chris, too, that it’s great there are still authors creating books Christians can read and enjoy.

    Like

    Reply

    • Oh gosh! A two hour commute! When I commuted, the best thing was books on tape. ‘

      I agree about the library. Best deal on the planet!

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      Like

      Reply

      • Yeah, I’m hoping the 2hr commute is a temporary situation!! And, yes, I’ve suddenly come around to the benefits of audiobooks. I’ve been loading the Classics on my phone to listen to during the drive. When I’m tired, though, they make me drowsier so on those drives I blast my Hillsong and Bethel Church music and sing at the top of my lungs all the way home!! đŸ™‚

        Like

      • Super! At least you’re making good use of the time!

        Sent from my iPad

        >

        Like

  4. Posted by chris granville on November 23, 2013 at 4:14 pm

    Im so thankful for my God and Savior, Im so thankful to be able to bless people
    Im so thankful for clean inspiring books! God bless you
    Chris Granville
    granville@frontiernet.net

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

