Editors…grateful for them, even when I’m not!

Why in the world would I be grateful to someone who tells me everything that’s wrong about my books? I refer, of course, to my editors. I send off that manuscript with high hopes that it is a shining gem, perfect in every way, my magnum opus. I exist on this happy cloud of self-delusion until my editors have their say. At this point, I discover that my magnum opus isn’t within spitting distance of perfection. Sigh. Do I want to see those corrections and criticisms? Of course not. Are they necessary in elevating me as an author. Yep, necessary and crucial. Editors are the unsung heroes who polish and perfect so authors can receive the kudos and only rarely do they reap any credit from their transformative work. I am extremely thankful that I have excellent editors who do their best to elevate my writing (even when I am Miss Grumpypants about it!)

Do you have someone, a boss or partner, who gives you criticism that makes you better? Do share. Giving away a Walmart gift card next week and all posts get you entered in the drawinghappy book.

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Joye on November 26, 2013 at 9:02 pm

    I accept criticism depending on how it is delivered. Nagging and spiteful is doesn’t work for me. However, i worked with some people who critiqued my work and that was quite helpful.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by Suzan Michet on November 26, 2013 at 2:04 pm

    Thought of your post today when I read the following in Wikipedia:
    “According to her son Todd, McCaffrey’s agent Virginia Kidd and editor Betty Ballantine provided crucial advice and assistance in her struggle with the sequel to Dragonflight. After the agent first read a draft, the author followed her advice to “burn it”, and she met with the editor in long sessions.”
    Love the phrase “burn it” – wonder how the author (McCaffrey) felt the first time she heard that !!!

    Like

    Reply

  3. My main editor and criticizer is my mother — so I pretty much have to love her by definition 😀 Really though, she’s fantastic, and although she sometimes doesn’t sugar coat her opinions as much as I would like, I think together we make a pretty good editing team!

    Like

    Reply

  4. People criticize me all the time, but I know that they are just out to get me.
    I read somewhere once that Jeffrey Archer is so terrible with his editing skills that if the publishers were to publish his book as-is, without revisions, no one would want to read it.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Posted by EllenToo on November 25, 2013 at 3:47 pm

    Not since I retired from teaching have I had anyone helpfully criticise me in either a good way or a bad way. But I sure did when I was teaching in both helpful and not helpful ways.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

