Covers…yes, they do sell books.

I am going to take a moment to thank another group who rarely gets so much as an afterthought, the people who design our covers. Yes, I am blessed to work for a publisher with a top-notch art department who creates original covers for the Love Inspired Suspense novels. In my opinion, they are much more striking and eye-catching than covers which utilize stock art. (Not to knock anyone here.) How fortunate am I that they solicit ideas and imagery to incorporate so the cover really does tell the story. It also sells the book. It’s a fact that books with interesting covers are more likely to be purchased. So here’s a big “Thank you!” to the art department. blog motivational

Do you choose books based on their covers? What do you like in a cover, people or landscapes? All comments get you entered in the November Walmart card drawing. 

16 responses to this post.

  1. Fiction covers are really interesting sometimes. I’ll generally stop to look if it’s interesting enough. One series with really neat covers is the YA Christian fantasy/allegory “Kingdom Series” http://kingdomseries.com/books.html

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by Patrice on November 30, 2013 at 8:34 pm

    I look at covers, and there may be some that entice me to check out the book, but I’m more interested in reading a book from a known author, or reading the description of the book. The covers that would be most interesting to me would be ones that convey suspense, as a mysterious forest, maybe with a castle thrown in for good measure..

    Like

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jeannie on November 28, 2013 at 7:16 pm

    I do look at covers if it’s an author I don’t know. If it’s one of my favorite authors, then the cover doesn’t matter much to me because I know they’ll have something good in the book for me!

    Like

    Reply

  4. I am a complete “cover-junkie”. It’s usually covers that will get me to pick up the book and read the blurb on the back or on the inside flap (or –if online– the description on Amazon). If both the cover and the description catch me, I will put the book on my to-be-read list, request it at the library (if it’s available), or just flat-out buy it.

    So yes, I agree — covers DO sell books!

    Like

    Reply

  5. I absolutely choose books based on their covers. It’s actually something I’ve been working on, now that I’ve entered the self-published world, because a lot of self-published covers are really terrible, but the stories are great. So I’m trying to get over my cover prejudice … but it’s hard going 🙂

    As for cover content … I don’t really have a preference between character and scenery. As long as it looks cool, I’ll like it 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  6. I do enjoy a good cover on my books, and seeing a good suspenseful cover will make me more interested in picking it up and reading the back then if it wasn’t. I guess I like landscapes better than people, that way I don’t have a preconceived notion of what the characters look like, I like to use my own imagination.

    Like

    Reply

    • Me too. I think some covers are funny because the entire series feature similar people. (I am amused that people say Nicholas Sparks books are all about “white people almost kissing.”) So funny since nearly all of his covers show just that!

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      Like

      Reply

  7. Posted by Suzan Michet on November 27, 2013 at 4:09 pm

    I think the key to the cover is that it catches your eye and makes you stop and look at that particular book, whether you are in the library or the book store … probably less important when shopping on line, as I tend to go for something specific. A cover wouldn’t stop me from reading a book … but it certainly has led me to unknown finds !

    Like

    Reply

    • Me too. Sometimes an odd quirky cover inspires me to pick up something I ordinarily wouldn’t. As far as online goes, I’ve found that it gives me more confidence buying a book with a quality cover as it makes me more optimistic about the contents.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      Like

      Reply

      • Posted by Rhonda on November 27, 2013 at 6:43 pm

        I tend to lean toward a book cover with art work, people or scenery, that matches or corresponds with the title. I like the word and graphic connection. I want them to connect, to relate to each other. Guess, like the other comment, I am a cover-junkie!

        Like

      • Me, too, Rhonda. Catch my eye and I’m probably going to take a second look!

        Sent from my iPad

        >

        Like

Leave a Reply

