Enriching your life with research?

Sulpher Creek, Flight to Freedom 036I know. Even the word ‘research’ sounds dry and uninviting, doesn’t it? In the old days, it probably was. Hours spent searching through dusty books on library shelves was time consuming and inefficient. Researching for a novel nowadays is a simple as firing up a search engine and letting your fingers do the walking. Still, moving beyond the computer screen has proven, in my case,  research has enriched my life. In the name of research I’ve recently toured an historic steamboat complete with paddlewheel. I’ve also had the pleasure of witnessing the release of wild birds of prey. Research encourages me to seek out new experiences and pay attention to the world around me in a whole new way.

Are there any places you’ve been learning to go and learn about? Do share. Giving away an Amazon gift  card this month.

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Suzan Michet on December 17, 2013 at 7:42 pm

    Foreign places always intrigue me … I love to travel, just haven’t been able to do as much in this phase of my life ! Would love to go to China, Japan, India (especially if we could visit our sponsored child – wouldn’t that make it all so real !), the Galapagos Islands, Russia (Moscow really), Thailand to volunteer in an elephant sanctuary, Egypt to see the pyramids … the list is endless !

    Like

    Reply

  2. I am working on a pirate screenplay and really want to visit Cape Hatteras, where Blackbeard spent a lot of time. I have recently moved to Charlotte, NC from New Zealand, so I’m ridiculously close. Just need some more money and time.

    Like

    Reply

  3. hmmm, I would love to see Alaska and the Swiss Alps! I love researching and learning new things! Rhonda
    rhonda_nash_hall@comcast.net

    Like

    Reply

  4. Posted by Lisa M. on December 5, 2013 at 2:13 pm

    I love the way Vienna, Austria looks and Germany. Have wanted to go there for years but lack the funds. I’d love to read a novel that had characters living in that area of the world-one set back in the 1700’s or 1800’s-perhaps early 1900’s…or even in Scotland.

    Like

    Reply

  5. I love learning new things. I love going out an learning, research on the interenet and in books. It’s fun, but I’m strange.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

