Pet peeves about the writing biz…

Dog readingThe prior post was about the top three reasons why I love writing Christian fiction. Before I share my top three pet peeves, let me just say that I am blessed to write fiction and have it published. It’s an honor and a privilege and I am mindful of that every day. Any job has those not so swift parts. Doctors have to deal with patients who won’t follow advice. Waiters and waitresses must serve picky customers. Postal workers have to be on the alert for cranky dogs. So here are three pet peeves unique to the writing biz.

1. Women writers of my genre are called “romance writers.” Male writers of my genre are called writers or novelists. This annoys me because it’s a gender bias. Nicholas Sparks writes romance novels. That’s not a shock to anyone who has read them.

2. Some folks tend to freak out if they read Christian fiction without realizing that’s the genre they picked up. I’ve had peeps tell me the books should be more clearly labeled to prevent this terrible shock. I don’t get it. If you don’t have to stamp erotica, western, spy novel, or atheistic on the cover, why would you have to clearly label a work Christian fiction? If you don’t like it, put the book down and don’t finish. It’s a book, not arsenic.

3.  Bad reviews are different that personal attacks. You don’t like the book? You think it was too simplistic? Not enough sex? Characters struck you as flat? You saw the ending coming a mile away? Write that in a respectful review and slam the book with one star. It’s your right and it will make you feel better about spending money on a book that didn’t satisfy you. You don’t think I have any talent, my intelligence is at sea level and I should break all my pencils and join the merchant marines? That’s personal. Words have power, as I tell my third graders. Use them wisely.

So tell me the pet peeves about your job?

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jane Squires on December 24, 2013 at 3:05 am

    I don’t have a job. But I am one who writes reviews. 1. I won’t give an author a 1 – I jus won’t write a review. I may let author know privately why I didn’t like sex but only done that once. Because just because I may not enjoy books does not know someone else won’t. So don’t worry – you will never get a 1 or 2 from me.

    Like

    Reply

  2. As a govt. employee, everybody expects me to be lazy and corrupt and inefficient. And when I do my work right, they are so surprised, THEY try to bribe ME. For doing my job. I don’t know whether to call it a peeve.

    On a side note, I used to think Sidney Sheldon was female. Don’t know whether it is gender bias. 😀

    Like

    Reply

  3. YOU AUTHORS ARE GREATLY APPPRECIATED AND I KNOW HOW HARD YOU ALL WORK ON YOUR STORIE

    S … THANK YOU AND GOD BLESS YOU ALL !!! MERRY CHRISTMAS !!! ALWAYS GIVE GOD THE GLORY !!!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Fabulous! I agree totally. #2 peeve I’ve actually been told in a review that had she known it was Christian fiction, she would never have picked it up. Why doesn’t “A Thousand Sacred Suns” get labeled Muslim? Mind boggling. Also, #3. Why would a person think they need to give a book 1 star if it contains too much religion? What about the plot and characters? What about the writing? This is what other readers want to know when they read reviews. SHEESH!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

