A Writer’s List of Resolutions

Lose weight? Eat better? Get more rest and don’t sweat the small stuff? Of course those resolutions are perfect for writers (and most of the general population.) Since I make my living writing fiction novels, however, I require some resolutions that are a bit more specific in nature. Here’s resolution #1.

Take the time to imagine. Ridiculous, you say. You’re a writer for the love of tuna!You imagine all the time. You’re right, but sometimes the push to complete a word count, meet a deadline, write blogs, participate in interviews, etc., causes me to cut short my imagination time. Result? The writing becomes mechanical, stale, uninspired. So I resolve to sit myself down in that comfy chair, without the iPad, t.v. or any current works in progress and spend some quality imagination time. The payoff is rich.

Ready? Set? Imagine!
Do you use your imagination to complete work or home projects? I’d love to hear about them. Giving away an iTunes gift card this month.2014 new year

2 responses to this post.

  1. Ahhh, you hit the nail on the head! My imagination time used to be taking long, lovely walks through the forests around campus. Now it’s cold and snowy and slushy and going outside is a huge hassle, so I’ve lost a lot of my imagining time. I still get some decent imagining done in the shower, but it’s just not the same! Best of luck with your own imagining 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

