Writing Resolution #3, Follow that octopus!

Writing is an odd business. You never know where a story idea will take you. Some of my best writing has sprung unplanned out of an oddball interest, an intriguing fact. Resolution #3? Follow that octopus! This December we visited the Monterey Bay Aquarium and took a behind the scenes tour. One aspect of the presentation enthralled me…the giant octopus. Did you know that octopuses (octopi? octopodis?) can tell the difference between two people by feeling with their suckers? They also learn by watching each other, and the only thing the keepers have found that an octopus cannot stick to is Astroturf. Why do I need to know this as a suspense author? I don’t know…yet, but one thing I’ve learned is that if I’m interested, fascinated, enthralled by something, it’s going to make for a great story someday. I might not understand it now, but down the road, that octopus is going to wriggle its way into a novel. My advice to writers everywhere? Follow what fascinates you. It will lead to a story, I promise.

So what are you passionately interested in? Posts get you entered in the January contest for an iTunes gift card. new year 2014

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Suzan Michet on January 23, 2014 at 8:06 pm

    Aren’t aquariums fascinating ? I remember going around the Vancouver one as a teenager and taking notes … no particular reason, just so fascinated by everything !

    Like

    Reply

  2. Oh where do I start? The ways my granddaughters negotiate their world – especially the ways they learn and use language; gardening; the Canadian political scene; travelling; photography – well, you get the idea.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

