What kind of writer are you anyway???

image

I’m a romantic suspense author of course. Look, I’ve got fifteen titles and a couple of award thingys to prove it. So why do I have the strong yen to write mysteries again and possibly some sparkly romantic comedies? And what about that staggering work of literary fiction that circles in my mind?  Awww man. I don’t just want to be one thing, but that’s exactly the WRONG approach to being a successful writer.

Pick one genre and develop a “brand.” Your publisher will be happy (they can market you so easily.) Your agent will be happy (they will know exactly what projects to pitch for you.) Your family will be happy because you won’t be walking around  muttering to yourself about the coolio idea for a cozy mystery series you just thought up. Errgh! I understand all these things, believe me. The trouble is I got into this business because a) I am creative and I get bored confined to one genre and b) I am an avid admirer of many different genres so it’s natural that I would want to try them out. Isn’t it? Anybody?????

Have you ever wanted to try something new in your work or leisure life? What happened when you tried it? Giving away a Barnes and Noble gift card this month.

 

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Shanda on May 17, 2014 at 9:18 pm

    I still write poetry and memoir on top of writing YA Fantasy and Romance. I am the same way in wanting to write across genres, but I realize that one must find a market and often stay in that market for a long time to both build a base and have the mobility to one day write for another genre. If one is prolific enough, perhaps a separate career under a pen name? Need to amp up my output. Most I’ve ever written is 56K in 30 days. I love Nano for that, but still one must edit. 🙂
    Ah, the writer’s conflict.

    Like

    Reply

  2. I write women’s and children’s Christian fiction, but recently had an idea pop up for a more suspenseful dramatic story, perhaps with a little fantasy added in. I’m still in the praying stage for that one but I get what you are saying. My first career choice was as a Stay Home Mom and back when my boys were young I filled the in between hours with reading, crochet (I taught myself by looking at stitch diagrams) sewing, sketching and gardening (flowers).

    Question: Is boredom the creative mind’s enemy or catalyst?

    Like

    Reply

    • Hi, Mary. I was a stay at home mom for a long time which is when I started writing seriously, so I guess for me, boredom was a catalyst. Not that children are boring, mind you, but there was nap time and the preschool hours and such when I needed an outlet. Thank for the comment!

      Dana Mentink award winning fiction author http://www.danamentink.com

      >

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

