Burritos with a side of book? Chipotle tries it out.

image

Here’s some interesting news for people who love to eat and read. Johnathan Foer was sitting in Chipotle with nothing to read and bingo! Inspiration! Foer has joined forces with the Chipotle chain of restaurants to print stories on their paper cups. Whose stories? For starters, Toni Morrison, and George Saunders. He was going for a mix of styles, fiction and non fiction, a way to expose some 800,000 Americans to a sample of good writing.

Clever idea, or not? Do you think other chains should get in on the act? Maybe  Starbucks could print the next Stephen King effort on their cups? Or Pinkberry could feature a J.K. Rowling story or two? What do you think of this idea? Giving away a Barnes and Noble gift card this month.

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Shannon M. on May 23, 2014 at 6:53 pm

    I think it’s pretty brilliant. I love to read, so I tend to read whatever is around. Yes, I am that person who sits at the breakfast table reading the cereal box! I generally have a book in my hand and I mute the TV during commercials to read…a bit excessive, probably. I think it would need to be a variety of different genres so that there is something for everyone.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by susanmsj on May 19, 2014 at 9:08 pm

    Not sure. If I am by myself, I have my Kindle and if I am with other people I don’t need to be reading. But it might be good for someone who doesn’t have anything to read.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Posted by Valri Western on May 19, 2014 at 8:54 pm

    Hmmm…. not sure! I don’t eat out very much so I don’t really have an opinion! I guess it’s good just to get people reading but I have a feeling people are too tech-dependent! I think they wouldn’t give up their smartphones to read! Just my opinion though!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Posted by Shanda on May 19, 2014 at 8:07 pm

    Yes, a good idea. I think their tables also should be printed with stories, poetry, whatever. It would be good to feed body and mind, and it would perhaps start conversations. As long as they don’t start printing filth. I don’t want to look down and see nasty stuff. Talk about losing one’s appetite.
    I bet they could help many author’s careers by printing a sample from a novel that gets people to go buy it. What do you think? Appe-teasers?

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

