Research…it’s a love/hate relationship.

 

My River North novel, Jungle Fire, took me to the Petén in Guatemala. The steamy jungle, deadly animals and breathtaking terrain had to be as real and compelling as any character in the novel. This brought me to an eye opening realization: I actually enjoy doing research! Sometimes.This is not something I would have ever been accused of during my college days. Now research has changed though, hasn’t it? A web search is a whole lot speedier than a browse through the stacks. Even more exciting is the ability to connect with folks who have actually done the thing which I am too scared to entertain. The lovely Justine, a missionary in Guatemala, consulted on Jungle Fire and Sugar Todd, short track speed skater chimed in on an Olympic themed book for Love Inspired Suspense.

Who knows? Maybe one day I will be inspired to strike out into the Petén Jungle or the remote Sahara. Until then, I will sure enjoy being transported through the amazing power of fiction.

What about you? Do you enjoy reading or writing books with exotic settings? I’d be thrilled to hear your thoughts. Giving away a copy of Jungle Fire and an Amazon gift card this month.

Also, fun and freebies abound on my Facebook reader page this month! Stop on by!

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dana-Mentinks-Reader-Page/340390520776

 

Dana Mentink 29 sm

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by JackieW on June 6, 2014 at 9:32 pm

    I enjoy reading stories set in exotic places since I am not a writer. Reading is my thing!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by Shanda on June 6, 2014 at 3:22 am

    Traveling by book is pretty much the only way I’ll get to most locales. I’m not sure I have enough adventurer in me to ever set foot in some places that missionaries do. Of course, God can work miracles, and if ever I’m in Guatemala, you’ll know one came down. But I’ll read about anything in the safety of my living room. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  3. Posted by Valri Western on June 5, 2014 at 3:20 pm

    I enjoy reading about exotic locations occasionally! I’ve lived in a couple places around the world and it reminds me of the traveling I used to do! We lived in Saudi Arabia when I was a teenager and traveled a lot during that time. Then, I lived in Guatemala in my 20’s as a missionary for my church so I love reading about different places around the world, even if I haven’t been there myself!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Posted by Suzan Michet on June 5, 2014 at 1:58 pm

    Yes I do ! Feels like a mini-vacation when the book is set somewhere I have never been.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

