Hard truths about writing and eggplant.

imageimageLet me just say the hard part first. If you want to be in the writing business, you’d better know that you’re going to fail. A lot. Take in the following two points, but be sure to read to the end. The bitter comes before the sweet!

1. If you want to be a writer, you’re going to feel rejection. Looking for an agent? You’ll no doubt query a ton of them before you get a nibble. I probably sent out a dozen agent queries a week for a while. I got some nibbles, but mostly just the form letters. Dear BLANK, Thank you for your interest in Skippy Doo Agency. Don’t take it personally, but we are not interested in representing you at the present time. Truth is, I published three books with Heartsong Presents before I even acquired an agent! Same is true with project proposals. You’re going to mail out a bushel of those babies and most will come back stamped “Thanks, but no thanks.”  I used to keep a binder to track my status and for many years the rejection section was bigger than all my published works stacked up!

2. If you want to be a writer, you’re going to experience criticism. It’s the nature of what we do. We write things, craft the very best product possible and send it out into the world. Some people are going to love it, and others are going to cut you to ribbons. Publicly. On Amazon and their blogs. And Twitter. It’s just the way of the world because consumers are very empowered by technology to share their thoughts. ALL of them.

Discouraged? Here’s the sweet part. Writing is like eggplant. Some people love it, and some can’t abide the veggie. Your book or article will find its way to the people who love it and need to hear it. Those are the people you write for, those eggplant lovers who need to hear what you have to say. You’re going to bless them, but you have to endure some rejection and criticism to do that.  It takes courage and commitment, but all good things do, don’t they?

What things in your life have required courage and commitment? Would love to hear your thoughts! Giving away a Starbuck’s card and two books at the end of the month!

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Shanda on July 23, 2014 at 11:08 pm

    Some days, it requires courage and commitment to simply face a blank screen. Sigh and begin.
    Some days, mole hills are mountains that you don’t think you can move or go around. Start walking.
    Some days come and go. Embrace them. After all, this is the day the Lord hath made . . . I often find myself not rejoicing or being glad in them. Then I need courage and commitment the most. To faith. A hard, hard thing. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jeannie on July 21, 2014 at 8:43 pm

    Nursing school was something I had to stick with clinicals, tons of studying and long classes but what was harder was being steadfast in the illness of a someone I love. Being a Christian is what has sustained me through the trials. Sometimes it’s like Dory – “Just keep swimming, just keep swimming, just keep swimming” – and then you get there – graduating, healing. It’s worth it!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Recently I’ve thought about writing a book so your post was very enlightening.
    In my life many things require courage and commitment. I have to try to be strong and set a good example as a mother even when I’m down or tired out from the pressures of life, aches and pains and uncertainty. I have to be courageous and committed when it comes to being a good, supportive wife to my husband. There are many decisions that have to be made now regarding parental care, downsizing, and other arrangements that are not easy, so it’s important to stay committed and to be strong about these things. But I’d say being a true Christian takes the most courage and commitment. I have to take a stand for what’s right and share my faith with others even if I don’t always receive a favorable response. Nevertheless, I know it’s my responsibility to do so as outlined in the scriptures. And remaining faithful to the end takes much courage and commitment daily.

    Like

    Reply

  4. For me it’s going to the gym. I don’t like being watched and feel embarrassed that I’m doing the workout wrong. I also am more interested in sitting that exercising so I have to force myself to do it.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

