When you should change your ‘no’ to a ‘yes!’

imageI don’t write children’s books. It’s just not in my repertoire at the moment. I’m pretty busy writing for two different lines and keeping up with life in general. Makes sense that I’d say ‘no’ to the opportunity to write a children’s traffic safety book for our local school district. Of course, I said yes. Why? Because I’m a teacher at heart and we’ve lost precious young people in our district in bicycle related accidents. No, children’s fiction is not my genre, but yes, there are enough reasons to change my answer to a ‘yes.’

Did I mention I don’t write short stories either? If I’m asked to participate in an anthology, I say ‘no.’ So when my publisher asked me to write a short suspense to be used as a giveaway, of course I said…yes! Why? One, it was a wonderful promotional opportunity. Two, I love to give things away, it’s like party favors! Three, it was a professional challenge to write a twisty, edge of your seat suspense/romance in 10,000 words!

So sometimes it’s a good idea to rethink some of our decisions. Did you ever do something you’d previously promised yourself you wouldn’t? How did it turn out? Giving away some neato prizes this month.

 

Here’s the link to the online short story. It’s a free read on the Harlequin site.
http://www.harlequin.com/articlepage.html;jsessionid=5F995D6050EEE523F44015B85FD19EB5?articleId=1703&chapter=1

4 responses to this post.

  1. I can’t remember doing something I’d previously promised myself I’d never do. I think as I’ve gotten older I’ve learned not to promise myself that I’d never do something because I see how much my opinions about things continue to change. I’ve adopted the old adage: Never Say Never.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Well, I hate change, so I pretty much never want to try anything new, lol. However, not-changing is rarely an option, so I usually find myself doing things I said I never would. Just this weekend I’ll be going on four different winery tours with my best friends. I find winery tours inexpressibly dull, since I don’t drink wine, and I told myself I’d never go on one again. But it’s for my friend’s bachelorette party, and she wants to do winery tours, so off we go!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

