Beyond I Do…a guest blog and giveaway by Jennifer Slattery

 

image image

 

It’s a great day to welcome a guest to my blog…fellow author Jennifer Slattery who’s here to chat about her book and offer a giveaway! Post a comment to enter the drawing to win a copy of Jennifer’s book, Beyond I Do. Below is a little blurb to whet your appetite.

Beyond I Do

Ainsley Meadow’s encounter with a woman, her child, and their abuser sparks a passion that threatens her engagement. Will seeing beyond the present unite her and her fiance or tear them apart?

Raised by a hedonist mother, who cycles through jobs and relationships like wrapping paper on Christmas morning, falls into a predictable and safe relationship with Richard, a self-absorbed socialite psychiatrist. But as her wedding nears, a battered woman and her child spark a long-forgotten dream and ignites a hidden passion. One that threatens to change everything, including her fiancé.

To embrace God’s best and find true love, this security-seeking bride must follow God with reckless abandon and realize that marriage goes Beyond I Do.

About the author: Jennifer writes and edits for Christ to the World Ministries, and also writes for Crosswalk.com, Internet Cafe Devotions, and Jewels of Encouragement and manages the social media for Takin’ it to the Streets, an Omaha Metro ministry that serves Omaha’s working poor and homeless. She co-hosts Living by Grace, a modern-day “meet at the well” Facebook community.

You can find out more about Jennifer via her website at http://www.jenniferslatterylivesoutloud.com.

19 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Donna Stein on August 16, 2014 at 7:48 pm

    Sounds like story will keep your interest. You might not want to put it down once you start reading!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Jennifer was a guest on my blog earlier this month. The book sounds very needed & very good. I would love to win, Jennifer. JanetDOThopeATattDOTnet

    Like

    Reply

  3. Posted by susanmsj on August 16, 2014 at 11:42 am

    This sounds like a great book. Thank you for the chance to win a copy.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Posted by Suzan Michet on August 15, 2014 at 11:53 pm

    I find it ironic that one of Jennifer’s characters, the “hedonist mother, who cycles through jobs and relationships like wrapping paper on Christmas morning” is just what I was thinking about the other day … how some people in my life simply cannot live as a single person for any length of time. (Versus others I know who are willing to wait on God’s timing). I would love the opportunity to read the book.

    Like

    Reply

    • I think this can be a very real struggle for many–wanting a family but sensing God’s saying wait. My sister didn’t get married until later in life, (well, what was considered later 10+ years ago. 😉 ), and I remember it was very hard for her. All her friends were getting married, and she began to worry that she might never find a spouse. But at the same time, she didn’t want to rush into a relationship that wasn’t right. Long story short, she did meet her hero, they had a beautiful wedding, but more importantly, an even more beautiful life after the vows. 🙂

      I think any time we focus on anything other than God and His will, we can gravitate toward temporary fillers–trying to find fulfillment in relationships, our work, material possessions, whatever. For Ainsley’s mom, her relational issues are but a symptom of a broken heart in desperate need of a Savior. Of course, it’s not easy for Ainsley to see this, largely because her moms behavior often hurts her deeply. It’s hard to step back and see the bigger, spiritual picture when the one we’re praying for hurts us.

      Michet, thanks for the fun discussion! And best of luck in the drawing!

      Like

      Reply

  5. Posted by Linda Presley on August 15, 2014 at 2:09 pm

    Jennifer’s book sounds like one I would love to read. I have not read any of her books but this could be a start. I am reading Dana’s new book right now and loving it. Would have been finished by now but summer has brought lots of visitors to our East Texas home so have had a busy but wonderful summer. Will be posting reviews of this new book soon.

    Like

    Reply

    • Never enough time for reading, is there, Linda? 🙂

      Dana Mentink award winning fiction author http://www.danamentink.com

      >

      Like

      Reply

      • Posted by Linda Presley on August 15, 2014 at 5:13 pm

        Especially this summer Dana. 5 weeks after my back surgery we started having company and it has been a revolving door. Lots of fun but not much time for myself or to read. We are on vacation in the cool northern NM mountains with 3 grandchildren now so I’ve gotten in a little reading and after school starts I will have plenty if time to read again but will sure miss the g-kids! I love your new book so far but then I haven’t read one that I haven’t loved!!

        Like

      • I’m the opposite, Linda. I stuff myself full of books because when school starts I have so little time between teaching and writing! 🙂

        Dana Mentink award winning fiction author http://www.danamentink.com

        >

        Like

    • Hi, Linda! Thanks for stopping in, and best of luck in the drawing. If you do end up reading “Beyond I Do”, I hope you enjoy it. I’ll have to check out Dana’s book. 😉 I’m reading “Falcon and the Sparrow” a historical by Marylu Tundale, and wow, it’s a great book! Have you read any of her work? This is the first novel of hers I’ve read but by no means the last!

      Like

      Reply

      • Posted by Linda Presley on August 15, 2014 at 5:17 pm

        I’m sure I will love it. I am just so thankful for authors like you and Dana that understand there are many if us who love to read a well written novel without all the offensive stuff. I have read just about all of Dana’s books and love them!! Do you have a FB page? If so I will “like” it. Have a great day and I’m keeping my fingers crossed about the drawing. Lol

        Like

      • Linda, I don’t have a FB page, but I’m on Facebook, and I’d love to connect with you. Well, I suppose that’s not entirely true. I’m part of a group Facebook page called living by grace. You can find me on Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/JenSlatte and you can visit the group page I’m part of here: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Living-by-Grace/208718449189065

        And I agree with you. I love to read, and I’m always on the look out for great, clean fiction. 🙂 Do you have a favorite genre? I find my tastes are very ecclectic–young adult, historical, contemporary, women’s fiction. The only genre I’m not a huge fan of is science fiction, mainly because my brain seems to struggle to grasp all those fantasy worlds.

        Like

  6. This sounds so good, thanks for the chance and for introducing me to a new author!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

