Two good reasons I should quit the writing biz

 

Dog reading

 

 

Did you hear my  self control snap like a pretzel this week? I figured it must be audible at great distances. The writing business can be the MOST infuriating way to spend one’s time. There are moments, MANY moments, when I review the list of why I should quit this crazy business. Here are my top two reasons below.

1. When I’ve spent days, weeks, arduous months putting together a multi book proposal and send it along to my editor, like the proud expectant mother, and the response comes back something along these lines. “It’s not what we’re looking for.”

Whaa? I put my heart and soul into that thing. Character sketches, research, polishing the perfect sample chapters. Sending it out to my trusted cohorts for revision. How could the answer be no? But it is. And that’s that. As I tell my children, “no means no.” Sigh. I should have been an orthodontist.

2. When everything under the sun has to be done RIGHT NOW! That book that comes out in November? You’d better get those review copies out. Post a giveaway to Goodreads. Line up some blog chats. And that idea for a new series? You’d better have that sample chapter ready because there’s some interest all of a sudden. And your Facebook page has been languishing lately due to inactivity and why aren’t you doing your part to participate in the three group blogs you belong to, you slacker? No, it doesn’t matter if you’ve got family/church/teaching commitments. Book publishing waits for no woman!

Good reasons to quit, right? So why don’t I? Because it’s my passion, my calling and my blessing and as my father will tell you, “No blessings are free.”

So what are some things you’d like to quit doing? Is there something that keeps you hanging in there instead of walking away? Would love to hear your thoughts. Giving away a triple prize this month, a signed book, a Starbuck’s card and a fall surprise.

 

16 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by JackieW on September 29, 2014 at 10:16 pm

    I’d like to stop taking my quilting class and making quilts but seeing beautiful fabrics and patterns plus the fact that I still have a lot of fabrics in my stash keeps me going. I certainly don’t need another quilt but hey, its the journey isn’t it.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by Joye on September 28, 2014 at 6:38 pm

    The one thing i would really love to quit doing is HOUSEWORK. However, I like to be clean and neat so the housework is on my To Do list at the top.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sarah Postma on September 28, 2014 at 12:46 am

    There are some nights where I want to quit with exercising but the thing that keeps me going is losing weight and becoming healthier. It also helps with the stress.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Posted by Suzan Michet on September 24, 2014 at 2:25 pm

    LAUNDRY !

    Like

    Reply

  5. Posted by Shanda on September 24, 2014 at 2:21 pm

    I feel your pain. After all, it is mine as well. Trying to make it in the publishing world. At least you arrived. 🙂 I’m still trying to board.
    Best wishes for continued success!

    Like

    Reply

  6. Posted by Cindy Anderson on September 23, 2014 at 9:06 pm

    I can relate to so many points here. It almost made me laugh out loud! Please don’t quit!

    Like

    Reply

  7. Posted by lisabetz88 on September 23, 2014 at 7:54 pm

    Some days I think about the daunting list of things I must do to get a book published and I wonder why I am wasting my time even trying. But then I think about the joy of writing (even editing, when you know you found the right words for the thought) and those unexpected moments when someone tells me how much they like my blog. It keeps me going. So does the support of my wonderful husband and my awesome critique friends.

    Like

    Reply

  8. I’d like to quit exercising!! Not leisure walking which I don’t consider REAL exercise, and which I rather enjoy, but the heart pumping, sweating through your clothes, huffing and puffing kind that I HATE!! I hate it so much because aches and pains make it difficult, and I’d rather be doing anything else (particularly reading) besides feeling out of breath and in pain. I do get to read when I’m on my exercise bike, but when it’s an intense workout it’s hard to concentrate on my book!! But…..I do it because I know how important it is, and because I love life and want to be around to enjoy it with those I love for as long as I can. I hope in the new world to come (2 Peter 3:13) I won’t have to worry about it because my heart and the rest of my body will be in perfect shape!! ( :

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

