Why you can’t name a hero Eggbert..

 

Daydreaming

Let’s face it. The hero of a romantic suspense novel is just not going to be named Eggbert. Even the most skilled writer cannot morph that name into something macho (please forgive me, all the Eggberts out there.) Yes, names are important, they reflect the tone and feel of the book.

In my lighthearted romances for Harlequin Heartwarming, I can have an Aunt Bitsy and a misfit dog named Baggy. In my suspense novels? Er, not so much. In Jungle Fire, the german shepherd’s name is Axel, so the “name rules” apply to the animal kingdom too. Conversely though, it’s nice sometimes to juxtapose a very plain name on a fantastically complex hero. Case in point? Harry. Harry Potter. Β Can Β you get a name plainer than Harry Potter? Can you find a more complex character? Love that juxtaposition.

In romance, however, your hero is going to need a strong name (Dan, Cliff, Ryder, etc.) and your women need something that makes them relatable that fits the story. Is Buffy a great name? You bet, but not for a romantic suspense. And Bubbles, while perfect for that romantic comedy, is just not going to cut it in suspense. You see what I mean?

So how do you feel about the name your parents gave you? I am told Dana means “man from Denmark” but I always liked my name because it works for both genders and you don’t meet a million Danas around town. What about you? Love your name? Hate it? Would your name be great for a character in a romance novel?

Giving away a Target gift card, a signed book and a fall surprise in our October drawing.

18 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Samantha on October 11, 2014 at 6:20 pm

    I love my name πŸ™‚
    Since I live in a francophone province of Canada and Samantha is an English name, it’s pretty rare too. πŸ˜‰
    My name is considered as the feminine form of Samuel and it means Listener, name of God!
    I think it’s very pretty!

    Like

    Reply

  2. I like my name!! When I was a kid I used to not like that my mom had spelled my name so differently since I could never find my name in any of the fancy name stuff stores sell. Now, however, the spelling is definitely more common, and I can find my spelling on some of the objects, but not all, which is not an awful thing! lol I really came to like my name when I was looking at some of my family history and realized that there were several Kathryn’s in my family with the same spelling even!! My mom didn’t even know this when she named me! πŸ˜›

    Like

    Reply

  3. Posted by Valri Western on October 2, 2014 at 5:50 pm

    I like my name but because it’s spelled differently, it’s unique! I rarely have to use my last name on anything! I was “supposed” to be a boy – HA! – so my parents didn’t have any girls names picked out but I was born on Valentine’s Day so they said it was easy to choose my name but spell it differently!

    Like

    Reply

  4. I like my name but it’s soooo common. I see it spelled so many different ways, but I like the way my mom spelled it; LAURIE. Ironically I’ve never seen it in a book, at least not yet. I love it when characters in books have likeable names, and conversely it bugs me when a name doesn’t quite fit.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Mine comes from Elizabeth, meaning “God’s promise” so I’m cool with that. As a child I didn’t like my middle name “Gail” but it’s grown on me. It means “joy” and I admit, I’ve had a joyful life.

    I read somewhere that originally James Bond was the plainest, most boring name Ian Fleming could come up with but the character has made the name just the opposite. I’ve noticed when my kids would make a new friend with an odd name, it was only odd the first time or two, and they it was just who they were.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Posted by Lynsay on October 2, 2014 at 2:14 pm

    I love my name, even if I have to spell it out for some.

    Like

    Reply

  7. My name is Dana as well. Although I’ve always heard that it is a feminine version of Daniel, even though it can be used for both genders. I love my name. Both for the reason that you stated about it not being common, but also because I genuinely like the sound of it.

    Like

    Reply

  8. Posted by joeym11 on October 2, 2014 at 1:03 pm

    I love my name. Just like the way it sounds. Is a royal name Princess Diana. Meaning goddess of love, or perfect devine one. I’ll keep it.
    Blessings
    Diana
    joeym11(at)frontier(dot)com

    Like

    Reply

  9. i don’t like my name. When I was in fifth grade I wanted to be called Carol (after Carol Burnett)

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

