Throwback Thursday: the perils of writing about a planecrash.

 

 

It’s Throwback Thursday! Indulge me while I travel down memory lane for a moment. I wrote Turbulence in 2011. I know…ancient history!  Here is the blurb and the most unique problem I ran into while writing it.

Turbulence, blurb.
Someone wants to ensure that the flight bringing Maddie Lambert and a transplant organ to her father never reaches its destination. Someone who’s desperate enough to sabotage the plane. In the aftermath of the crash, Maddie finds herself stranded on an isolated mountain with the last man she’d ever trust again—her ex-fiancé, Dr. Paul Ford. He’s the man she blames for her family’s tragic loss, but now he’s the only one who can get her to her father in time. Yet what neither of them knows is that the danger has just begun.

The writer’s problem: The pilot I interviewed was very reluctant to tell me how to crash a plane. He was eager to share all about the safety mechanisms built into modern aircraft, and how they are extremely reliable in the hands of an experienced pilot. But Jim, I’d plead. I want to know how to CRASH the plane, not keep it in the air! Poor Jim. Went against his grain, don’t you know! In addition, my frequent flyer readers told me they  the subject matter kind of creeped them out.

Do you have a fear of flying? Or are there other modes of transportation that make you nervous? Giving away a triple prize this month. 🙂

Turbulence, cover

14 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sarah Postma on October 30, 2014 at 4:57 pm

    I definitely get nervous before I fly anywhere. I worry about so much stuff that might happen when it’s more likely it won’t happen.

    Like

    Reply

  2. I’ve flown a couple times and I’ve never been afraid to. However, I think flying over the ocean might bother me some since I’m not overly crazy about deep water (I’m fine in a pool or shallow water where I can see the bottom… but really deep water kinda freaks me out). And one time I rode from Oklahoma to Kentucky with my brother in his Camaro. Never again! Driving fast down the interstate in that super short car surrounded by semis… I was a nervous wreck! :/

    Like

    Reply

  3. When I was younger I flew a lot with my job and didn’t mind at all..now that I’m older I try to avoid flying because it really affects my ears, I seem to always catch a cold after flying when I hardly EVER get colds otherwise, and I practically witnessed 9/11 being from N.Y.C. I think that did something to me subconsciously. Not that I wouldn’t fly, I just prefer not to. And although I know statistically that I’m more likely to have a collision in a car, I still prefer traveling that way.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Posted by Jeannie on October 16, 2014 at 1:24 am

    I’m not really afraid to ride anything. I would love to ride in The Millineum Falcon or the Serenity. One can have dreams 😉
    I can understand about the pilot not wanting to talk about how to crash a plane. I guess it would be like asking a doctor or nurse how to kill a patient. I could tell you how to do it, but we strive so hard to not make mistakes that it would be so unnatural. Plus, I have a very vivid imagination. This is great when I am reading a book because I can be so into it that I forget where I am. But that also keeps me from reading things too gruesome and real because I can see it so well in
    my head. I’m careful about what I read since I don’t want my brain to go some places. Imagining killing someone is another place I don’t want to take my brain.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. Posted by Valri Western on October 15, 2014 at 8:57 pm

    Nope, I don’t have a fear of flying! I’ve flown so many times in my life that it’s a no brainer for me! I’ve lived abroad a couple times in my life so I’ve had to fly as a necessity! I don’t particularly like the take-off as I have “stomach issues” but it’s over quickly so I can deal with it! I like getting places fast! I loved your Turbulence book when it came out! I think it was one of the first books of yours that I read….hmm, maybe the second one!

    Like

    Reply

  6. Posted by Beth on October 15, 2014 at 7:42 pm

    I’ve never had the opportunity to fly, but I think I would love it.

    Like

    Reply

  7. Posted by Kathryn on October 15, 2014 at 7:25 pm

    Flying definitely makes me nervous!! Although trying to drive in the city gives me a heart attack too!!! I’m a much better navigator! 😝. But I do like that flying gets you so far in a matter of hours rather than days to drive!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

