Do you have a special spot? Why I must start building a shed immediately.

image

 

I just perused an amazing series of photos showing some workspaces of famous writers. From Dylan Thomas to Roald Dahl, Virginia Woolf to Phillip Pullman, they have one thing in common, they create their magic in run down little sheds. No fancy computer desks or large screen televisions to be seen. We’re talking boathouses, bike sheds and everything in between.

It sounds rustic, doesn’t it? But to a gal who generally writes in the living room or at a desk squashed in the corner between a treadmill and a rocking chair, it’s an attractive notion. I have the urge to start construction on my own personal writing shed. I head for the hammer until I consider an important fact. I am also a mother, wife and the caretaker of an elderly dog and box turtle who will not appreciate my disappearance into my shed cave. Hmmm. I suppose my rustic writing Β oasis will have to wait.

So what about you? Do you have a little spot that you call your own where you tend to your hobbies or work? Do share. And here’s a link to photos of some famous writer’s sheds. Would any of them appeal to you? Giving away a book, an amazon gift card and a fall surprise this month.

http://www.theguardian.com/books/booksblog/gallery/2014/oct/17/five-best-writers-sheds-in-pictures

 

 

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sarah Postma on October 30, 2014 at 4:53 pm

    I call my bedroom my own. That’s where I go to read and watch tv and have some space when needed.

    Like

    Reply

  2. I like to sit and read in the big, comfy leather chair in my living room that’s nestled between a window and large t.v. Armoir. There’s a lamp, small table for tea and goodies and my favorite heated throw nearby. When I have the blanket over me my cat comes and lays on the bottom part that hits the floor where it’s warm. It’s a cozy reading corner.

    Like

    Reply

  3. I grew up in a 3-bedroom house with 5 brothers, 1 sister, & 2 cousins… there have always 5-9 people living in our house at one time. Because of that, I got used to working around other people and I’ve discovered that, sometimes, I actually can get more done when I’m working around others than when I’m in a quiet, secluded place.
    As for a little spot that I call my own… in a house literally full of boys, that spot has always been my bedroom. πŸ˜‰

    Like

    Reply

  4. I grew up in a 3-bedroom house with 5 brothers, 1 sister, & 2 cousins… there have always 5-9 people living in our house at one time. Because of that, I got used to working around other people and I’ve discovered that, sometimes, I actually can get more done when I’m working around others than when I’m in a quiet, secluded place.
    As for a little spot that I call my own… in a house literally full of boys, that spot has always been my bedroom. πŸ˜‰

    Like

    Reply

  5. Posted by Valri Western on October 20, 2014 at 11:13 pm

    I have a scrapbook table in the “home office” which doubles as my catch-all for all my hobby stuff! Fortunately, our extra bedroom is our “home office” and that’s where we keep all our “stuff”. We are empty nesters so we have the house to ourselves, which is very nice. Although we do still have some of our adult kids’ things, they are all in labeled boxes in the closet!

    Like

    Reply

  6. Posted by Suzan Michet on October 20, 2014 at 3:38 pm

    I’m with you Dana – would not work with my current responsibilities to have a quiet, exclusive spot off the beaten track! My creativity usually takes place on the couch in the family room, with others around … or at the mother’s group I attend where they are used to seeing a needle in my hand !

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

